Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


SOURCES: Davao Occi mulls move from MPBL to VisMin

Many have been wondering why reigning Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League champion Davao Occidental-Cocolife is not part of the 22-team field of the Invitational Tournament which is set from December 11-23 at the The SM Mall of Asia Arena.

Coming off a semifinal finish in amateur league Filbasket, the Tigers have a roster that is ready to compete.

So why isn’t Davao Occidental coming back to its mother league? Well, it is eyeing a move to the south’s pro basketball league, Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup.

According to multiple sources closely monitoring the situation, the Tigers brass, headed by Governor Claudine Bautista, is in the early stages of moving to VisMin. One of the sources added that they have already met league chief executive officer Rocky Chan.

If the transfer pushes through, the Lakan season would be the last time the MPBL will see the Tigers for the foreseeable future.2021-Chooks-to-Go-MPBL-Lakan-Finals-Game-Three-San-Juan-vs-Davao-Occidental-Jerwin-Gaco SOURCES: Davao Occi mulls move from MPBL to VisMin Basketball MPBL News VisMin Super Cup  - philippine sports news

The Tigers have a cracked roster headlined by Jerwin Gaco, John Wilson, and Paolo Hubalde.

Completing Davao Occidental are Keith Agovida, Alwin Alday, Marco Balagtas, Emman Calo, Robby Celiz, Bonbon Custodio, Gab Dagangon, Chris Lalata, Irven Palencia, Billy Ray Robles, Allan Santos, and Joseph Terson.

Jose Makalintal is currently the head coach of the Tigers.

VisMin is looking to open its second season in January.

#ReadMore  UAAP 85 MBB: No miracles for Adamson as UP scores rout for 8th win
Written By

You May Also Like


It felt like home sweet home for Nueva Ecija, which secured a victory in front of its local fans in the Pilipinas Super League...


Alpha Omega showed its resilience as they clawed their way back against Davao Occidental-Cocolife to an 88-87 victory in the 2023-24 PSL President’s Cup...


GenSan weathered Batangas’ repeated assaults to secure a 61-55 victory on Saturday, forcing a Game 3 decider in their battle for the MPBL (Maharlika...


The North selection finally prevailed over their South counterparts, winning 99-91 on late Saturday in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season All-Star...


MVP race pacesetter Justine Baltazar will lead the North Division selection against the best of the South, spearheaded by reigning MVP Jaycee Marcelino on...


Muntinlupa and Paranaque pulled off surprises while San Juan lived up to expectations in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season round-robin elimination...


Defending champions Nueva Ecija, former titlists Batangas, and the leading Pampanga team displayed their strength in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season...


Makati stunned Pampanga, 102-97, in overtime, while Caloocan rallied to nip Muntinlupa, 81-80, on Friday in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season...