Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Shai Del Campo scores brace as La Salle ends slump, eliminates Ateneo

Even with a finals ticket already in the bag, defending champions De La Salle University Lady Archers showed no mercy against archrivals Ateneo de Manila University Lady Eagles, in the UAAP Season 81 Women’s Football Tournament second round.

After two straight draws, La Salle prevailed 4-2 over Ateneo, Saturday afternoon at the Circulo Verde field in Quezon City.

“The first eleven did their job. This is our first win actually, in the second round. It’s a good preparation to go to the finals because we cannot go to the finals with all draws,” said La Salle coach Hans-Peter Smit.

The first half was goalless, with La Salle’s Shai del Campo denied twice by the crossbar. Skipper Kyra Dimaandal then broke the deadlock six minutes after the restart with a cool finish.

Dimaandal’s goal opened the floodgates, as Irish Navaja then shot past Ateneo goalie Marie Caparros in the 67th minute. La Salle simply coasted after the national team player’s goal. Rookie Del Campo scored a quickfire double in the last 10 minutes of the contest to demonstrate the Green & White’s superiority.

The Taft-based school virtually secured all three points with a four-goal lead, which then allowed Smit to make multiple substitutions. Ateneo substitute Jill Panganiban and striker Martie Bautista scored a goal each near the end of the 90 minutes, but they were nothing more than consolation strikes.

La Salle were left to enjoy a sweet victory over Ateneo, while the latter can only lament another year away from the finals.

“We need to take every game as preparation for us to get to the finals. At least the morale of the girls will be a little bit higher than normal. It’s a good win,” furthered Smit.

#ReadMore  NU dominates Ateneo to extend streak to 36 ties; Adamson stuns UST

Both schools’ next games are on May 8, 2019, at the same venue. La Salle (15 points) take on the Far Eastern University at 9:00 AM. Meanwhile, Ateneo (5 points) face the University of the Philippines at 3:00 PM.

ADMU XI: Adao, Almeda, Bautista, Bugayong, Cabrera, Calimbo, Caparros (GK, C), Catedrilla, Diaz, Naguiat, Soriano.

DLSU XI: Arrieta, Castañeda, Concepcion, Del Campo, Delos Reyes, Dimaandal ©, Hodges, Lacson (GK), Mendaño, Navaja, Tejada.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like

2022 AFF Women’s Championship

The Philippine Basketball Association had a special guest on Wednesday evening at the SMART Araneta Coliseum. During the halftime break of the Ginebra San...

2022 AFF Women’s Championship

The Philippine Women’s National Football Team’s preparations for the upcoming 2022 AFF Women’s Championship are in full swing. The Philippine Football Federation announced Thursday...


Ateneo libero Dani Ravena played a huge role when the Lady Eagles evened up the series after a four-set victory in Game Two of...


Anton Asistio feels honored to have had Jai Reyes as a teammate in Bataan during the early goings of the 2019-20 Chooks-to-Go Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball...


Yana Bautista was set to play for the Lady Eagles this coming season, and many believed she would become an immediate contributor to the...


It was not just Philippine football who mourned the loss of its daughter Yana Bautista. Last July 30, the Philippine Football Federation sent an...


Women’s football lost another daughter. Alyana Bautista (September 13, 2002-July 23, 2020) passed away on Wednesday due to complications from coronavirus (COVID-19). She was...


Super seniors who could not play during the University Athletic Association of the Philippines’ 82nd season will have another shot at glory.  The league’s...