Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Ricky Vargas takes second PBA Executive of the Year award

PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas finally received his 2019 Danny Floro Executive of the Year award during the virtual PBA Press Corps Awards Night, Sunday at the TV5 Media Center.

Vargas received the high honors from the group that covers the PBA beat for his brand of leadership, which brought stability to the PBA Board after his election for a third straight term.

“It is an honor to share this historic night with PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial, members of the PBA Board of Governors, and the award-winners this year,” said Vargas.

“On behalf of the Board, we thank our dearest partners in the PBA Press Corps for your commitment. Thank you for your commitment to sharing the stories of our players, teams, and the league.”

After earning anew the confidence of the entire Board, Vargas, representing TNT, became the first to serve as chairman for three straight terms since Luis ‘Moro’ Lorenzo Sr. of Pepsi from 1991 to 1993.

Vargas earned the respect of his peers with his cool and calm demeanor but strong-minded will. He helped the Board work as a collective unit again and traversed the league into better times.

This is the second time Vargas was honored with the award named after the late affable team owner Valeriano ‘Danny’ Floro of the fabled Crispa Redmanizers.

Vargas, who’s also doing a wonderful job as chief of the Association of Boxing Alliances in the Philippines (ABAP), first won the award handed out by the men and women regularly covering the PBA beat during the 2006-07 season.

#ReadMore  Greg Slaughter showcases new-found speed in Ginebra's Govs' Cup debut

Past recipients of the honor include San Miguel team owner Ramon S. Ang, PLDT Chairman Manny V. Pangilinan, Alaska boss Wilfred Uytengsu, Rain or Shine co-team owners Raymund Yu and Terry Que, to name a few.

Elmer Yanga, the amiable team manager of the RFM franchise in the 90s, was the first recipient of the prestigious award, winning the honor during its first three years from 1993 to 1995.

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Ray Parks and TNT have already put the past behind them, it seems.  PBA Commissioner Willie Marcial said that Tropang Giga governor Ricky Vargas...


After a long study, the Philippine Basketball Association has agreed to allow NLEX star Kiefer Ravena to play for Shiga in the B.League. The...


All’s well that ends well, as they say.  From the looks of it, Ray Parks has mended fences with his former PBA team as...


Finally, it’s on. The PBA formally opened its 46th season Friday at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig, marking the league’s return to action...


The PBA does not want to set a bad precedent by allowing Kiefer Ravena to take his talents to Japan while having a live...


PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas reminded the existence of the right-of-first-refusal rule when asked if the league is open to allowing its players with expired...


The PBA has decided that Kiefer Ravena should honor his contract with NLEX. This comes after the 27-year-old signed with the Shiga Lakestars of...


Eumir Marcial’s return to the amateur boxing ranks did not go as planned. The Tokyo-bound middleweight suffered a unanimous decision loss against Uzbekistan’s Saidjamshid...