Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2020 Tokyo Olympics

Rep. Romero pushes Team PH Tokyo gold bonus to P33-M

Team Pilipinas’ Tokyo Olympics squad got another boost, Tuesday morning.

House Deputy Speaker Mikee Romero has added an additional incentive to medal winners for the Games that begin on July 23.

To whoever wins the country’s first-ever Olympic gold, Romero added an additional P3-million pesos, pushing the incentives to P33-million.

A silver will net an additional P2-million while a bronze will bank a million-pesos, all courtesy of Romero.

“Ang aking good news na out of my company’s expenses, itataya ko na to give additional motivation,” said the shipping magnate, who owns Northport, during the Tuesday’s edition of the Philippine Sportswriters Association Forum which is powered by SMART and has Upstream Media as webcast partner.

Also committing earlier were Manny V. Pangilinan and Ramon S. Ang, who each pledged P10-million each for the athlete who will win gold.

For Romero, he sees three Team Pilipinas members who have a strong case to win gold. These are weightlifter Hidilyn Diaz, gymnast Caloy Yulo, and golfer Yuka Saso.

“All are bemedaled and are champions worldwide. Pag tinignan mo ‘yung track record and background neto, pinagsama-sama lahat ng magagaling na atleta,” he said in the forum that is presented by San Miguel Corporation (SMC), MILO, Amelie Hotel Manila, Braska Restaurant, and the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (PAGCOR).

“Our best bet is Yuka or Hidilyn, being the silver medalist last Olympics. We have Carlos Yulo, one of the most bemedaled during the 2019 Southeast Asian (SEA) Games with seven medals – two gold and five silver.”

The other members of Team Pilipinas are golfers Bianca Pagdanganan and Juvic Pagunsan; skateboarder Margie Didal; half-middleweight judoka Kiyomi Watanabe; weightlifter Elreen Ando (minus-64); boxing flyweight Carlo Paalam, middleweight Eumir Marcial, flyweight Irish Magno, featherweight Nesthy Petecio; pole vaulter EJ Obiena; flyweight jin Kurt Barbosa; rower Cris Nievarez; sprinter Kristina Knott; and shooter Jayson Valdez as member

#ReadMore  Gilas cut Baser Amer, Carl Cruz versus Chinese-Taipei
Written By

You May Also Like


Gilas Pilipinas Girls will be tested immediately as they face host Thailand in a must-win opener of the SEABA U18 Women’s Championship, which kicks...

2024 Summer Olympics

Sam Catantan, the first Filipino fencer to qualify for the Olympics in 32 years, is eagerly anticipating the Paris Games in July. Catantan, a...


Carlos Yulo boosted his prospects for the Paris Olympics by bagging four gold medals at the recently concluded 2024 AGU Asian Men’s Artistic Gymnastics...


EJ Obiena fueled his preparation for the 2024 Paris Summer Olympics with a gold medal in the men’s pole vault at the USATF Los...

2024 Summer Olympics

Despite falling short of securing her fifth consecutive Olympic appearance, Hidilyn Diaz, the celebrated Olympic weightlifting champion, asserts that she’s far from ready to...

2024 Summer Olympics

An Olympian will be attending her second straight Games later this year. Elreen Ando leapfrogged several weightlifters, including compatriot and Tokyo Olympics champion Hidilyn...

2024 Summer Olympics

Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) President Abraham “Bambol” Tolentino congratulated Nesthy Petecio and Aira Villegas for qualifying for the Paris Olympics and simultaneously encouraged other...

2024 Summer Olympics

A chance at redemption and a well-deserved debut. Nesthy Petecio and Aira Villegas secured their spots in the 2024 Summer Olympics in Paris later...