Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


PSL: Renzo Navarro catches fire as Pampanga Royce blasts 1Munti, takes fourth win

Pampanga Royce Hotel overpowered 1Munti 82-67 Wednesday night to stretch its winning run to four and keep hold of solo second in the Manila Bankers Life-Pilipinas Super League Pro Division Second Conference Dumper Cup at the Bren Z. Guiao Convention Center in Pampanga.

Zach Huang led Pampanga Royce with 15 points and six rebounds, while heady playmaker Renzo Navarro also shone with 12 markers – all from beyond the arc.

Jolo Mendoza and JB Bahio added 11 points each as the charges of coach Sandro Soriano scored a fitting follow up to a 74-52 thumping of Bagong Cabuyao-Homelab Nation last Dec. 19 and rose to 4-0 in tilt presented by Winzir and co-presented by SCD Cosmetics and Dumper party-list, and supported by NET 25, Adcon, Wcube Solutions Inc., MDC, Unisol, Don Benitos, and Finn Cotton.

The Emeralds fell to their fourth straight loss, including a sorry 71-76 setback to erstwhile winless Cagayan de Oro-PSP last week, for a 1-4 slate.

In the other game, Rence Alcoriza carried Manila to a 91-85 victory over Nueva Ecija to get back on track.

A former Arellano U standout, Alcoriza notched 20 points, six boards, and two assists for the Citystars, while Levi Hernandez backed him up with 15 markers, five caroms, and three dimes.

Kyle Neypes and Marcy Arellano also combined for 28 points for Manila, which made up for a 66-82 defeat to Sta. Rosa Laguna last Dec. 15 and improved to 3-3.

The Slashers reeled off to their third loss in a row, counting a sorry 76-78 decision to defending champion Davao Occidental-Cocolife last Dec. 17, for a 2-4 mark.

#ReadMore  Cocolife evens record, slams Iriga City

Domark Matillano paced 1Munti with 12 points and four rebounds, while RJ Ramirez had 10 and four.

Jerick Nacpil’s 14-point, nine-board effort went for naught for Nueva Ecija, which also got 13 markers from Daryl Pascual.

Jerome Juanico and Jeremy Cruz contributed 11 and 10 points, respectively for the Slashers.

The scores

First game

MANILA 91 – Alcoriza 20, Hernandez 15, Arellano 14, Neypes 14, Escosio 7, Mangahas 6, Acosta 5, Alban 5, Acibar 2, Gayosa 2, Manalo 1, Morales 0.

NUEVA ECIJA 85 – Nacpil 14, Pascual 13, Juanico 11, Cruz 10, De Guzman 9, Altamirano 6, Bartolo 5, Ingles 5, Mancao 5, Ingel 4, Mag-isa 2, Lagrama 1, Acop 0, Brutas 0.

Quarters: 24-18, 47-39, 71-58, 91-85.

Second game

PAMPANGA ROYCE HOTEL 82 – Huang 15, Navarro 12, Bahio 11, Mendoza 11, Liwag 9, Villapando 8, Verano 5, Baetiong 4, Tolentino 3, Cullar 2, Palencia 2, Flores 0.

1MUNTI 67 – Matillano 12, Ramirez 10, Umpad 9, Camacho 8, Arboleda 6, Cantimbuhan 6, Galit 6, Mabigat 4, Alano 2, Alves 2, Basco 2, Pasia 0, Sarmiento 0.

Quarters: 15-15, 43-36, 54-52, 82-67.

Written By

You May Also Like


Manila paraded Greg Slaughter and emerged triumphant over Binan, 79-63, on Friday in the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Sixth Season at the Alonte...


Manila will field a team comprised of former professionals for the upcoming 2024 MPBL Season. Leading the formidable squad is the seven-foot center Greg...


After three seasons at Adamson University, Didat Hanapi has decided to move on to the professional ranks. The 6-foot-2 slasher from Zamboanga City has...


The Davao Occidental Tigers have announced their return to the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League (MPBL) after a two-year absence. The Tigers, who clinched the...


ANTIPOLO – Rey Nambatac refused to see his debut become a footnote as he saved Blackwater from a massive collapse against Meralco, 96-93, in...


Bacoor City weathered Batangas City Embassy Chill’s third-quarter surge to prevail, 54-49, on Friday and capture the MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) South Division...


Manila survived against Cam Norte, securing an 80-77 victory to claim its second consecutive win in the Pilipinas Super League President’s Cup on Monday...


Pampanga weathered San Juan’s final assault to prevail 86-82 in Game 1 of their MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season North Division Finals...