Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

2021 SEA Games

PSI returns home to Yldefonso Swimming Complex for National Open

Coming off a successful Swimming National Selection meet last October 22-24, 2021 in Capas, Tarlac, the Philippine Swimming Inc. will be coming back home to the Teofilo Yldefonso Swimming Pool in the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex, Manila from February 25-27, 2022 for the National Open.

“We are glad to be able to host the PSI National Open in the newly-refurbished Yldefonso Swimming Pool,” said PSI president Lailani Velasco.

“With the easing of quarantine restrictions in the country and with the help of the Philippine Sports Commission, we can finally swim in a pool that is both historic and familiar to most of us.”

A total of 160 participants are set to take part in the PSI National Open. This will help determine the national team pool for the 31st Southeast Asian Games in Hanoi, Vietnam this May.

Headlining the swimmers are SEA Games veterans Sacho Ilustre, Rafael Barreto, Rian Marco Tirol, Xiandi Chua, Thanya Dela Cruz, and Miguel Barreto.

Also set to compete are the likes of Samuel Alcos, Sebastienne Wong, Chloe Daos, Erin Castrillo, Joaquin Santos, Camille Buico, Pierre Chan, and Jordan Lobos.

“We hope to encourage current swimmers to train even more to reach their dreams. And what better dream than to have a chance to represent the country, and bring pride and honor to the flag?” expressed Velasco.

A total of 36 events will take place in the three-day meet.

Competition begins on Friday at 3:00 PM. Start times for Days 2 and 3 will be at 9:30 AM.

All participants will undergo strict testing prior to entering the competition venue.

#ReadMore  Alaska staves off upset-minded Terra Firma for fourth win
Written By

You May Also Like


The Philippine Swimming Incorporated will only send three national team stalwarts to the upcoming 19th FINA World Championships set from June 17-July 3 in...


The Philippine Swimming Incorporated marked the return of youth competition last May 27-29 with the 2022 Philippine National Age Group Swimming Championships (PNAG) held...


Troy Rosario was not able to rejoin TNT immediately after his tour of duty with Gilas Pilipinas in the 31st Southeast Asian Games in...

2021 SEA Games

The Philippine national swimming team struck silver in the women’s 4×100 medley relay just behind powerhouse Singapore with a time of 4:12.360, Wednesday at...

2022 Asian Games

The Hangzhou 19th Asian Games in September was postponed because of Covid-19’s omicron variant pandemic situation in China to a still-to-be-determined date, according to...

3x3 Basketball

The PBA has pencilled in the 3×3 Second Conference Grand Finals’ resumption for April 27 at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig. Commissioner Willie...

3x3 Basketball

Limitless will look to maintain its PBA 3×3 kingship as the Second Conference Grand Finals takes place on Wednesday at the SMART Araneta Coliseum....


The Philippine Swimming Inc. (PSI) held its National Congress Annual Meeting and Election of members of the Board of Trustees (BOT) on Monday, April...