Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
Photo from PSC


PSC rewards PWNFT with incentive for punching ticket to World Cup

After a historic AFC Women’s Asian Cup 2022 campaign that yielded a ticket into the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, the members of the Philippine Women’s National Football Team have been rewarded by the Philippine Sports Commission for their outstanding performances for the country.

The Philippine Sports Commission announced that its leadership was in complete agreement with the P1,250,000 incentive for the players as a token of gratitude for the pride and glory they brought to the country earlier this month.

“I am proud of our women football team members. We met them yesterday and we can feel their humility and strong team spirit. I think this contributed much to their success, among other factors,” said PSC chief Butch Ramirez.

The current PWFNT batch, which included 23 players and two reserves, will each receive P50,000 each for their exploits in India that composed of a maiden win against Thailand, a fantastic performance against Australia, a drubbing of Indonesia, and most memorably a penalty shootout win over Chinese Taipei before bowing out to South Korea in the semi-finals under the guidance of coach Alen Stajcic.

Ramirez added, “I am proud of our women’s football team members. We met them yesterday and we can feel their humility and strong team spirit. I think this contributed to their success, among other factors.”

Those who visited the PSC office at the historic Rizal Memorial Sports Complex in Manila include goalkeeper Inna Palacios, midfielders Anicka and Sara Castaneda, forward Cam Rodriguez, defender Hali Long, forward Chandler McDaniel, and goalkeeper Olivia McDaniel.

Also part of the squad are Tahnai Annis, Sarina Bolden, Quinley Quezada, Tara Shelton, Sofia Harrison, Katrina Guillou, Kiara Fontanilla, Dominique Randle, Isabel Flanigan, Keanne Alamo, and Carleigh Frilles.

#ReadMore  Team Pilipinas' Butch Ramirez to be hailed as PSA Awards Executive of the Year

They were presented by Philippine Football Federation president Mariano V Araneta Jr, whose stewardship of the game in the country has seen it seal first-time tickets in the AFC Asian Cup 2019 and FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Angie Beard has formally switched federations, moving from Australia to the Philippines just a month before the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Western United’s...


With the FIFA Women’s World Cup just a month away, the Philippine Football Federation is hoping that the Philippine Sports Commission does its part...

32nd SEA Games

By Aeron Valderrama and Lorenzo del Carmen When Philippine Olympic Committee president Bambol Tolentino took the podium during the new cycle of the Philippine...

2024 Summer Olympics

The Philippine Women’s National Football Team will face familiar opponents in the second round of the 2024 AFC Women’s Olympic Qualifying Tournament. Coach Alen...

32nd SEA Games

Mission accomplished for Team Pilipinas. The 840-strong contingent of the Philippines was given a mission to surpass the 52-gold tally of the team in...

Branded Content

World-renowned sports brand adidas presented on Wednesday the kits that will be worn by the Philippine Women’s National Football team in the 2023 FIFA...


DEFENDING champion De La Salle University punched its ticket to the UAAP Season 85 Women’s Football Final after ousting University of the Philippines in...

32nd SEA Games

In a stunning display of resilience and determination, the Philippine national women’s football team delivered a thrilling upset by defeating defending champion Vietnam with...