Connect with us

Beach Volleyball

Perlas duo Bea Tan-Dij Rodriguez, Air Force’s Abria-Becaldo rule BVR: Lingayen Open



Tiebreaker Times Perlas duo Bea Tan-Dij Rodriguez, Air Force's Abria-Becaldo rule BVR: Lingayen Open Beach Volleyball BVR News  Roma Joy Doromal Randy Fallorina Pol Salvador Mike Abria Kly Orillaneda Jason Uy James Buytrago Jade Becaldo Jackie Estoquia DM Demontano Dij Rodriguez Bea Tan 2019 BVR Season

Perlas’ Bea Tan and Dij Rodriguez rediscovered their old form to bag the women’s championship, while the returning pair of Mike Abria and Jade Becaldo took the men’s title in the Beach Volleyball Republic On Tour: Lingayen Open Wednesday at the Capitol Beachfront.

Tan and Rodriguez won their third title in four legs this year at the expense of NU Boysen 1’s Roma Joy Doromal and Kly Orillaneda, 21-12, 21-15. On the other hand, Abria and Becaldo, former two-time Boracay beach volleyball now representing Air Force, bested NU-Boysen’s James Buytrago and Pol Salvador, 21-19, 21-18.

Both pairs went undefeated in five matches.

While Tan and Rodriguez cruised to victory to rebound from last weekend’s Dumaguete runners-up finish, Abria and Becaldo had to grind it out to beat Buytrago and Salvador in the Finals.

Trailing 13-15 in the second frame, Becaldo used his solid net defense to give Air Force an 18-16 lead. Abria then produced the key hits to help their partnership prevail – the first time that the two formidable University of the Visayas standouts captured a beach volleyball title in six years.

“Beach Volleyball Republic provided an additional attraction for this year’s celebration of Pistay Dayat (Sea Festival) here in my hometown, Lingayen. It is very refreshing to watch some excellent talents in this field of beach volleyball and thus I am also proud to showcase our beautiful Lingayen beach for sports development and sports tourism,” said Pangasinan 2nd District Rep. Leopoldo N. Bataoil, who handed the trophies to the winners along with BVR founder Charo Soriano.

READ  PSL honors PWNVT during Invitational Cup opening ceremony

Randy Fallorina, one of the Philippine beach volleyball legends, provided the biggest inspirational story in the BVR on Tour, combining forces with Jason Uy in Army 2’s third-place finish.

The 39-year old Fallorina, currently an Army coach delivered flashes of brilliance, as he and Uy powered their squad’s 15-21, 21-16, 17-15 victory over Fury’s Pemie Bagalay and Greg Utopo.

Sta. Lucia’s Jackie Estoquia and DM Demontaño, returning for the first time since the Santa Ana Open in Cagayan last year, captured third place with a 21-14, 21-17 victory over Air Force 1’s May Ann Pantino and Jozza Cabalsa.