Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
(C) PBA Images

Basketball

PBA suspends ref Rey Yante for crucial missed call in ROS-Magnolia tiff


The PBA has suspended Rey Yante for the rest of the Season 49 Governors’ Cup for missing a crucial call late in Game 3 of Rain or Shine’s eventual win over Magnolia in their quarterfinal series on Sunday night in Antipolo.

Upon review by the league’s technical committee, the long-time referee failed to call a goaltending violation on Jhonard Clarito at the 15.3-second mark of the overtime period when he swatted the shot of Zavier Lucero.

Rain or Shine went on to win, 111-106.

“Our trail referee who administered the inbound, si Mr. Rey Yante, missed to call a goaltending because of his position,” Deputy Commissioner Eric Castro told reporters on Monday evening at the Ninoy Aquino Stadium.

The goaltending was eventually called on Clarito upon review by the referees, but not before a duty foul was given up by Jerrick Ahanmisi to Gian Mamuyac – which received an outburst from Hotshots coach Chito Victolero.

“Mali ang pwesto niya (Yante), he wasn’t able to call the goaltending. But with the rules that we have, we reviewed it,” Castro said.

“But then, that’s after the fact already, Magnolia had already fouled a Rain or Shine player. But again, we added the two points because of our rule regarding reviewables on missed goaltending,” he continued.

This is the second time in nine years Yante has been suspended.

Back in 2015, Yante was suspended for the rest of that year’s Commissioner’s Cup playoffs after a “clear judgment error” during a game between Meralco and, coincidentally, Rain or Shine.

The league, Castro in particular, also owned up to the mistake that the officials committed when no longer playing the remaining one second in regulation.

#ReadMore  Mike Nieto puts in the work to prove haters wrong

It happened after Magnolia guard Mark Barroca went for the go-ahead layup but missed, and the ball sailed out of bounds following a joust near the rim.

There was still a second left on the clock but the final buzzer was sounded shortly after.

“I take full responsibility sa situation na ito,” said Castro, who’s also part of the technical committee. “I take full responsibility for this incident.”

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.




You May Also Like

Basketball

The recently-concluded TNT-Barangay Ginebra title showdown in the 2024-25 PBA Commissioner’s Cup was a massive success — not just in ticket sales, but also...

Basketball

Justin Brownlee is once again facing scrutiny after receiving a notice of an adverse analytical finding, the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas confirmed in a...

Basketball

TNT had to pay dearly for taking a gamble in a critical moment in Game 7 of the PBA Season Commissioner’s Cup Finals, but...

Basketball

Calvin Oftana is no stranger to winning in a PBA Finals, but clinching the Season 49 Commissioner’s Cup title felt as sweet as his...

Basketball

Help can come from anywhere, and Poy Erram received as much from people he never expected at all during this journey of his toward...

Basketball

As Poy Erram basked in the glory of winning another PBA championship, one of his closest pals over at the other side could only...

Basketball

It was simple for Glenn Khobuntin: take the shot whenever open. But little did he know, perhaps, that such an uncomplicated approach would make...

Basketball

Jayson Castro never had any doubt about Rey Nambatac, so he was beaming with pride after the latter played a major role in TNT’s...

Advertisement