Connect with us


PBA stars face-off in virtual shootout for a cause



Tiebreaker Times PBA stars face-off in virtual shootout for a cause Basketball News PBA  Willie Marcial Von Pessumal TNT Katropa Scottie Thompson San Miguel Beermen Roosevelt Adams Robbie Herndon Rey Nambatac Rain or Shine Elasto Painters Phoenix Fuel Masters Philip Paniamogan PBA Season 45 Paolo Taha Northport Batang Pier NLEX Road Warriors Nard Pinto Mike DiGregorio Meralco Bolts Mark Caguioa Magnolia Hotshots Lervin Flores Kib Montalbo Kevin Ferrer Kenneth Ighalo Justin Chua June Mar Fajardo Diego Dario Dave Marcelo Coronavirus Pandemic Columbian Dyip Chris Bitoon Bonbon Batiller Blackwater Elite Baser Amer Barangay Ginebra San Miguel Alvin Abundo Alaska Aces Adrian Wong 2020 PBA Philippine Cup

Dubbed the PBA Three-point Shootout Charity Virtual Tournament, this undertaking should draw interest from the league’s young fans — specifically those hooked on mobile games.

This tournament-for-a-cause features 24 players from the league’s 12-member ball clubs, who will battle each other using the mobile app game PBA Slam.

Ginebra’s Mark Caguioa and Scottie Thompson, SMB’s June Mar Fajardo and Von Pessumal, and Magnolia’s Paul Lee and Alvin Abundo lead the participants, who are vying for the top prize of PHP 250,000. The amount goes to the charitable institution selected by the winning team.

Also entered in the tournament are Mike Digregorio and Robbie Herndon (Alaska), Diego Dario and Chris Bitoon (Blackwater), Roosevelt Adams and Bonbon Battiler (Terra Firma), Philip Paniamogan and Kenneth Ighalo (NLEX), Dave Marcelo and Justin Chua (Phoenix), Lervin Flores and Kib Montalbo (TNT), Rey Nambatac and Adrian Wong (ROS), Kevin Ferrer and Paolo Taha (NorthPort) and Baser Amer and Nard Pinto (Meralco).

The event, which launched last Aug. 28, takes place on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays. Fans can catch it live on PBA Rush at 7 p.m. and on at 8 p.m.

Teams are divided into two groups of six. The elimination round pits players from the same teams against each other. They play four rounds with a time limit of 1:30-minute per round.

The winner of the challenge advances to the six-team semifinals. Already qualified for the semis are Herndon, Thompson, Bitoon, Abundo, and Ferrer.

The same process will be used in the semis, with the three winners advancing to the finals.

READ  Derick Pumaren continues to prep DLSU Green Archers amid ECQ