Connect with us


PBA honors ‘Original Nine’ to open 45th season



Tiebreaker Times PBA honors 'Original Nine' to open 45th season Basketball News PBA  Yoyong Martirez U/Tex Weavers Turo Valenzona Toyota Comets Tanduay Rhum Masters Seven-Up Uncolas Royal Tru-Orange (PBA) Presto Ice Cream Makers PBA Season 45 Orly Castelo Mariwasa-Noritake Lauro Mumar John Gokongwei Jr. Jimmy Mariano Gil Cortez Emerson Coseteng Crispa Redmanizers Concepcion Carrier Atoy Co

The past serves as a foundation of the future, so the Philippine Basketball Association acknowledged its pioneering teams as it celebrated its 45th season, Sunday at SMART Araneta Coliseum. 

A total of nine teams played for Asia’s first play-for-pay league in its inaugural year in 1975. And all of them laid the groundwork that helped shape the PBA into what it is today.

Those teams were 7-Up, CFC-Presto, Royal Tru-Orange — which is now the San Miguel Beermen — Mariwasa-Noritake, Toyota, Tanduay, Crispa, Concepcion-Carrier, and U-Tex.

Each team had a representative in the ceremonies, led by legends Atoy Co (Crispa); Yoyong Martirez (Royal Tru-Orange); Gil Cortez (Toyota), and coach Turo Valenzona (U-Tex).

Former players Orly Castelo (Tanduay) and Jimmy Mariano (Concepcion-Carrier) were also in attendance.

Meanwhile, former senator Nikki Coseteng, daughter of founding PBA president Emerson Coseteng, came for Mariwasa-Noritake.

Robina Gokongwei-Pe, daughter of John Gokongwei, represented CFC-Presto. The granddaughter of former Uncolas coach Lauro Mumar, Carla Mumar, represented 7-Up.

READ  Belencion carries Tanduay to D-League semis