Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Lady Blazers eliminate Lady Red Spikers to advance to semis

The journey to another Cinderella finish begins for the defending NCAA women’s volleyball champions De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde Lady Blazers.

And what better way to start it off but with a torching of the young San Beda College Lady Red Spikers in straight sets, 25-22, 25-20, 25-15, to move on the stepladder semifinals, Tuesday afternoon at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

Middle hitter Ranya Musa registered 15 points to stand the tallest for the reigning champs. Team skipper Jeanette Panaga and Rachel Austero followed suit with 11 markers each.

Both teams finished with 33 attacks, but the Blazers dominated at the net with 11 blocks.

Reception problems hounded the Lady Red Spikers throughout the match, although it was more evident in that final set. If not for the heads up play of Cesca Racraquin and Nieza Viray for San Beda, it could have been a bigger blowout.

The white-shirts also got some lifeline off Saint Benilde’s errors, which is something the latter’s head coach Macky Cariño took notice of.

“Pero kung gusto namin mag-champion like last year, dapat hindi ganito galawin namin. Kasi nagbibigay pa rin kami, lalamang kami tapos hahabol yung kalaban,” he shared. “Every point is important, hindi dapat namin tinatapon yun.”

The champion mentor also stressed that, “Kung gusto namin mag-champion dapat hindi kami mag-relax. Yung mga susunod namin na kalaban hindi parang Beda, yung dalawang natitira malalakas. Yung aggressiveness, yung passion dapat nandun.”

Racraquin ended with 11 markers to lead the Lady Red Spikers, which finished in fourth this season.

#ReadMore  Soaring Falcons thrash Pirates in 30-point blowout

The reigning queens Lady Blazers will try to extend their championship defense when they face the second-seeded Arellano Lady Chiefs on Friday, February 3. This time, however, the Legarda side has a twice-to-beat advantage.

“Meron pang tatlong araw para makalaban namin sila. Kung ano yung preparation namin dati, ganun pa rin ang gagawin namin,” Cariño ended.

The Scores

CSB 3 – Musa 15, Panaga 11, Austero 11, Enginco 9, Daguil 3, Cardiente 1, Lim 0, Torres L.

SBC 0 – C Racraquin 11, N Viray 8, Espiritu 7, Amador 5, J Viray 2, Tannagan 1, Cuevas 0, Manuel 0, Garcia 0, D Racraquin L, Zamudio L.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like


College of St. Benilde and University of Perpetual Help showcased their dominance over Letran and Emilio Aguinaldo College, respectively, on Sunday to extend their...


Beginning on Sunday, two schools from the National Collegiate Athletic Association of the Philippines will take centerstage in the epitome of a clash between...


In her very first stint in the Premier Volleyball League, Brooke Van Sickle shone the brightest, winning the 2024 All-Filipino Conference Most Valuable Player...


In a dazzling display of grit and determination, Creamline soared to victory in a heart-stopping five-set showdown against Choco Mucho, clinching their third consecutive...


Creamline became the first team to enter the finals after sweeping Chery Tiggo, 25-16, 25-21, 25-20, in the round-robin semifinals of the 2024 Premier...


Jema Galanza took over in the clutch as Creamline bounced back, taking down Petro Gazz in a tight four-set showdown, 27-25, 23-25, 27-25, 26-24,...


There’s a first time for everything, and on Tuesday, in front of 6,407 fans, Choco Mucho finally broke Creamline’s code in their 13th attempt....


Despite being eliminated just hours prior to hitting the court, the also-ran PLDT team still showed up and took care of business against the...