Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Navy-Standard Insurance banners 13-team field for Ronda Pilipinas return

LBC Ronda Pilipinas will hold its 11th edition with 13 teams seeing action in the 10-stage race unfurling in Sorsogon City on March 11 and concluding in mountaintop Baguio on March 22.

George Oconer will spearhead heavy favorite Navy Standard Insurance and defend the title he won in the 10th-anniversary edition of this annual cycling spectacle two years ago.

Ronald Oranza, the 2019 champion, will skipper the loaded Navy squad that is also composed of El Joshua Carino, Ronald Lomotos, Junrey Navarra, John Mark Camingao, Esteve Hora, and Jeremy Lizardo.

Other teams to watch out for are Go for Gold — which will be spearheaded by Dominic Perez, Jonel Carcueva and Boots Ryan Cayubit, and Excellent Noodles — which will be bannered by Santy Barnachea and Jan Paul Morales, who have won a combined five Ronda crowns.

Also seeing action are Philippine Army, Team Nueva Ecija, Dreyna, Eagle Cement, Champ Café, Bike Kings Laguna, Vantage Ilocos Norte, VPharma, Team Quezon Province and Team Ilocos Sur.

A total of P3.5 million will be given away as cash prizes with P1 million going to the overall individual champion, P400,000 to the runner-up, and P200,000 to the second runner-up.

The team champion gets P200,000 in this race presented by LBC Express, Inc. and supported by MVP Sports Foundation, Quad X, Twin Cycle Gear, Standard Insurance, Print2Go, Elves Bicycles, Elitewheels, Orome, Maynilad, and Garmin.

Petron Boy Kanin, Green Planet Bikeshop, Prolite, Black Mamba, Lightwater and LBC Foundation are also backing the event along with the PhilCycling and Games and Amusements Board.

#ReadMore  Chot says 'not much will change' if Nenad is Gilas head coach

Ronda will unfold with a Stage One Individual Time Trial and Team Time Trial on March 11 in Sorsogon followed by the 163-kilometer Sorsogon-Legazpi City Stage Three on March 12 and 189.1km Legazpi-Daet Stage Four on March 13.

It will be followed by the 212km Daet-Lucena Stage Five on March 14 and 157.4km Lucena-Tagaytay Stage Six on March 15.

After a one-day break, the race will wind up with the 180.4km Tarlac-Baler Stage Seven on March 17, 174.4km Baler-Echgue, Isabela Stage Eight on March 18, 193.2km Santiago, Isabela-Baguio Stage Nine on March 19, and Baguio City Stage 10 criterium on March 20.

Written By

You May Also Like


Wewe Medina took charge on both ends as Philippine Army overcame a 0-2 deficit to stun Ateneo-Fudgee Barr in five sets, 22-25, 19-25, 26-24,...


Philippine Army outlasted Iloilo in an intense five-set affair, 21-25, 25-14, 25-19, 22-25, 15-12, marking a winning debut in Pool A of the Spikers’...


Jermyn Prado snatched two gold medals, Jonel Carcueva kept his throne, and Kim Bonilla was hailed as a rising star in the recent PhilCycling...


Kaya-Iloilo and Far Eastern University are set to go head-to-head in the group stage of the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara. During the draw held...


VNS survived the upset-seeking Army in five sets, 25-14, 20-25, 18-25, 25-11, 15-13, to stay alive in the 2023 Spikers’ Turf Open Conference semifinals...


National University Archipelago ended its five-game slump with a solid four-set romp over the Philippine Army, 25-21, 25-17, 23-25, 25-18, and notched its first...


Philippine Army celebrated its 126th founding anniversary with a hard-fought five-set victory over AFP Olympic rival Philippine Air Force, 23-25, 26-24, 18-25, 25-22, 20-18,...


Imus-Ivy Tuason Photography made it three consecutive wins after taking care of Philippine Army in four sets, 25-18, 25-14, 23-25, 25-18 in the 2023...