Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Letran, UST headline 12 team field in 2020 PBA DL Aspirants’ Cup

Twelve is the final count of teams that will wage war in the 2020 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup, which will start on February 13. 

NCAA champion Letran and UAAP runner-up University of Santo Tomas spearhead the 12-team contingent for the first conference, in what is shaping up to be another wild race to the finish.

The Knights return to their name as Wangs Basketball-Letran, while the Growling Tigers will be the UST Builders Warehouse. Both are currently the early contenders for the crown.

Only Marinerong Pilipino — which settled for a bridesmaid finish in the Foundation Cup last season — will be the club team for this tourney, with 11 school-based teams joining the fray.

This is the maiden participation of EcoOil-DLSU and Mapua in the PBA D-League; on the other hand, mainstays Centro Escolar University and AMA Online Education are set for their returns.

Rounding out the participants are San Sebastian, Far Eastern University, Diliman College, Technological Institute of the Philippines, and Enderun Colleges.

All 12 teams will have the chance to load up their rosters with the 2020 PBA D-League Draft set on Monday at the PBA Office in Libis.

Fil-Am forward Jamie Malonzo of La Salle is eyed as the top selection for AMA, as the Titans will be picking at no. 1 for the fourth straight year.

Its past selections include Jeron Teng (2017), Owen Graham (2018), and Joshua Munzon (2019).

#ReadMore  FEU extends streak to three at cold-shooting UP's expense
Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


When Nash Racela was offered the position to be the head coach of Adamson University after he was let go by Blackwater, one of...


Roger Pogoy couldn’t help but burst into tears after TNT successfully reached the summit of the 2021 PBA Philippine Cup, Friday evening. While the...


Cholo Anonuevo has decided to come back home.  The 20-year-old – who trained in the United States for a year – arrived on Wednesday....


Another senior bids his farewell to Far Eastern University. A month after Fil-Aussie Ken Tuffin decided to go pro, Alec Stockton has also decided...


“If you do something important, write about it.” Prof. Ed Garcia long firmly believed in this, so he jots down significant events and experiences...


Jeff Napa has passed the head coaching duties of Centro Escolar University to the person he trusts the most — Chico Manabat.  In a...


One year is a very long time. And young Joshua Ramirez knows this all too well. Over a span of 12 months, the Letran...


After moving from one school to another, Joshua Ramirez has finally found a school where he will settle in for good. The Letran product...