Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


La Salle Lady Spikers put on clinic, shut down Ateneo’s 10-game win streak

Three-time defending champions De La Salle University Lady Spikers played their best game of the UAAP Season 81 Women’s Volleyball tournament, dissecting the Ateneo De Manila University Lady Eagles and sweeping the season series, 25-17, 25-13, 25-23, at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

La Salle sorely needed the win and showed their championship mettle. They improved to a 9-3 record, maintaining their hold on the second seed with a one-game lead over the 8-4 UST and FEU.

The Lady Spikers made an early statement, turning a slim 14-13 gap into a convincing set win with an 11-4 blast. The second set was more of a wallop, as La Salle opened on an 18-8 blitz, powered by precise serving and steady floor defense.

With Ateneo continuing to struggle with their first touch, La Salle leaned on Des Clemente and rampaged to a 12-6 edge in the third set. The Lady Eagles then tried one last rally, coming within one, 22-21, but were quickly turned back by La Salle’s strong serving. An Ateneo overreaching violation, a Clemente running tip, then an Aduke Ogunsanya slide allowed La Salle to escape.

Rookie Jolina Dela Crus shone for La Salle, tallying 14 points, while Lourdes Clemente and Aduke Ogunsanya each managed 10 points. The Lady Spikers limited Ateneo, the league’s best-blocking team, to zero kill blocks.

La Salle clinched their 11th consecutive postseason appearance, their 19th overall under Ramil De Jesus.

No Lady Eagle reached double-digits in scoring, as Ponggay Gaston provided seven points.

Although Ateneo dropped to a 10-2 record, they still only need one more win to clinch a twice-to-beat advantage.

#ReadMore  Adamson Lady Falcons send statement with rout of UE

La Salle (9-3) take on the University of the East Lady Warriors (3-9); while Ateneo face the Adamson University Lady Falcons (1-11) on April 24 at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

The Scores

DLSU (3) – Dela Cruz 14, Clemente 10, Ogunsanya 10, Luna 9, Cheng 4, Cobb 2, Tiamzon 2, Alba 0, Saga (L)

ADMU (0) – Gaston 7, De Leon 6, Madayag 6, Tolentino 6, Samonte 4, Wong 1, Gandler 0, Maraguinot 0, Raagas 0, Gequillana (L), Ravena (L)

Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like


Newly-formed amateur women’s volleyball league in the country — the Shakey’s Super League was formally launched at the pizza parlor’s ASEANA branch, Tuesday afternoon....


Petro Gazz played the spoiler, eliminating Choco Mucho in the semifinals race, 28-26, 25-21, 25-16 to end its 2022 Premier Volleyball League Invitational Conference...


Kat Tolentino saved Choco Mucho in her return, leading the Flying Titans to a thrilling 25-21, 25-17, 22-25, 10-25, 16-14 victory that kept them...


Akari has landed another Blue Eagle. Erika Raagas has decided to enter the professional ranks, signing with the Power Chargers when they make their...


Choco Mucho head coach Oliver Almadro was nothing but proud of the fight that his remaining players showed in the team’s straight sets loss...


Choco Mucho head coach Oliver Almadro revealed that the Flying Titans’ key players are ‘most likely’ to suit up in the team’s do-or-die match...


Creamline vented its ire on Choco Mucho for a bounce back 25-22, 25-14, 25-22 victory in the 2022 Premier Volleyball League Invitational Conference at...


Ivy Perez steered Army-Black Mamba to a four-set victory over the undermanned Choco Mucho, 25-22, 22-25, 26-24, 25-19 for its second consecutive victory in...