Connect with us


JRU stuns top-seed Lyceum to win City Hoops 19U crown



Tiebreaker Times JRU stuns top-seed Lyceum to win City Hoops 19U crown JRU LPU News SMART City Hoops  Nathaniel Tulabut Lyceum Juniors Basketball JRU Juniors Basketball John Barba Hommer Macatangay Cadell Buno 2018 SMART City Hoops Summer Classic 2018 SMART City Hoops Season

By: Jonash Dannug

The Jose Rizal University Light Bombers blew out tournament top-seed Lyceum of the Philippines University Junior Pirates to bag the 2018 SMART City Hoops 19-under Summer Classic crown, 77-55, Saturday, at the Greenhills West Indoor Court.

In order to get to the finals, the Light Bombers had to fend off the Adamson Baby Falcons, last Thursday. The Junior Pirates, on the other hand, had a long break as they ended the elimination round on top of the table in this tournament that is presented by Chooks-to-Go, Mighty Sports, Rain or Shine Elasto Paint, Cignal TV, and Wilson Basketball.

With the Pirates closing the gap to only five points, the Light Bombers unleashed a 7-0 run to end the third quarter, giving themselves a comfortable 12-point cushion in the final frame, 53-41.

Coming-off a hot third quarter, JRU continued their fiery streak and started the final frame with a 6-0 run ignited by a Ronald Bucoy jumper, 59-43.

Lyceum tried to lessen the gap with a 7-0 spark of their own with Nathaniel Tulabut pouring in four of his 10 points in the run.

However, JRU was quick to retaliate as they ended the game with an 18-7 run, led by Cadell Buno.

The Light Bombers turned to their defense as they forced the Junior Pirates to committing 25 turnovers and limited them to only 35 shots in the game.

Buno led the Light Bombers with 14 points while Hommer Macatangay added 10 points, four rebounds, and eight assists.

For the runner-ups, John Barba had 12 points while Nathaniel Tulabut added 10 points, six rebounds, and three steals.

Batang Gilas standout Mac Guadana scored only six points in 1-of-7 shooting from the field.

The Scores:

JRU (77) – Buno 14, Macatangay 10, Amores 8, Bucoy 8, Delos Santos 8, Portales 6, Vasquez 5, Ganut 5, Fortuna 5, Sy 4

LPU (55) – Barba 12, Tulabut 10, Jugar 6, Guadana 6, De leon 6, De Guia 5, Omandac 5, Caringal 3, Pagdanganan 2, De Jelo 0, Santos 0, Nocal 0, Ragasa 0, Gudmalin 0

Quarterscores: 16-11, 33-27, 53-41, 77-55.