Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Giganto goal not enough vs 10-man PSM as Kaya gets draw in AFC Cup

Despite the numerical advantage on the pitch, Kaya-Iloilo Football Club could not get a much-needed win in the 2020 AFC Cup group stage.

Oliver Colina’s men had to make do with a 1-1 stalemate against Indonesian side PSM Makassar, Tuesday evening, at the Gelora Bung Karno Madya Stadium in Jakarta.

Down by a goal after the first period, the Far Eastern University connection saved the blushes of the Philippines Football League team. At the 50th minute of the contest, Arnel Amita delivered a fine ball, which was then headed into the goal by Eric Ben Giganto.

It was a welcome respite for the Filipino club as it went behind the home side at the 22nd minute courtesy of a goal from forward Osas Saha. Beforehand, though, defender Dedy Gusmawan was ejected for incurring two yellow cards from referee Srikrishna Coimbatore Ramaswamy.

Both teams, though, had chances near the end of the game to steal all three points. Skipper Jovin Bedic’s header was narrowly cleared away from goal while Osas’ shot painfully wide with Kaya goalkeeper Louie Casas’ goal at his mercy.

The result momentarily allows Kaya to be at the top of Group H with 5 points as Singapore’s Tampines Rovers and Myanmar’s Shan United set to play against each other later in the evening. On the other hand, PSM Makassar now has 4 points after three games played.

Kaya and PSM Makassar shall square off once again in their fourth game of the round. That fixture shall be played on April 15, 2020, 7:00 PM at the Rizal Memorial Stadium in Manila.

#ReadMore  Nine-man Kaya-Iloilo finishes ACL stint with one-goal loss to Viettel

PSM Makassar XI: Wasyiat H, Hussein, Ferdinand ©, Osas Saha, Dedy G, Y Sayuri, M Rizky, Leo Guntara, Ahmad Agung, M Arfan, Hilman (GK).

Kaya XI: Omura, Bedic ©, Angeles, Giganto, Casambre, Mitchell, Daizo, Rota, Casas (GK), Felongco, Taku.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Daizo Horikoshi proved to be the match winner yet again as his goal allowed Kaya-Iloilo to prevail 1-0 over Stallion Laguna in the semifinals...


Behind Daizo Horikoshi’s two goals, Kaya-Iloilo was able to clinch first place in the 2022 Copa Paulina Alcantara elimination round with a resounding 3-0...

2021 SEA Games

The Philippine Azkals’ Under-23 team had a dream start to their 31st Southeast Asian Games campaign after a 4-0 rout over Timor Leste in...


Kaya-Iloilo managed to hold on against Stallion Laguna’s retaliation with a 3-2 victory in the 2022 Copa Paulino Alcantara, Monday night at the PFF...


Defending Copa Paulino Alcantara champions Kaya-Iloilo sealed its third win with a 4-0 humbling of the Azkals Development Team, Wednesday evening at the PFF...


Defending champion Kaya-Iloilo returned to winning ways in the 2022 Copa Paulino Alcantara with a hard-fought 1-0 win over Mendiola 1991, Monday evening, at...


Two of this year’s title favorites played out one of the best matches yet this season. Defending titlists Kaya-Iloilo and current Filipino champions United...


Defending champion Kaya-Iloilo enjoyed a successful start to their 2022 Copa Paulino Alcantara campaign with a 1-0 win over Maharlika Manila, Monday evening at...