Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Chloe Daos, Ateneo off to dominant start in UAAP Swimming

LOS BAÑOS, LAGUNA — Reigning, three-time champion Ateneo flexed its muscles, starting the UAAP Season 82 Women’s Swimming Championships in dominant fashion, Thursday at the Trace Aquatic Center.

Last year’s Most Valuable Player Chloe Daos took the lead for the Lady Eagles after snaring the golds in the two freestyle events for the day, 100-meters and 800-meters.

Ateneo also bagged the two relay mints to amass a whopping 101 points for the night.

Daos bested rookies Erin Castrillo of University of the Philippines and Nicole Pamintuan of De La Salle University for the 100-meter title at 59.54. Castrillo and Pamintuan both clocked in at 1:00.35, but the former was awarded the silver in a photo finish. The third-year Atenean also bagged the gold in the 800 meters ahead of Nichole Evangelista of La Salle and teammate Reagan Gavino, who finished at 9:53.11 and 9:54.31, respectively.

The Lady Eagles ended the Lady Maroons’ domination of the 200-meter medley relay event. Courtney Gray, Dara Carreon, Kristine Santos, and Marjorie Manguiat edged out the UP squad at 2:08.15. Franchesca Joves, Alyssa Pogiongko, Janna Taguibao, and Ariana Canaya got the silver at 2:08.44.

Meanwhile, De La Salle University with Erika Jaurigue, Maggie Mendoza, Carla Louise Jaurigue, and Bettina Ting bagged the bronze at 2:13.24.

Ateneo, on their hand, extends its winning run in the 800-meter freestyle relay, with Suzanne Himor, Gavino, Gray, and Portia Doragos clinching the gold at 9:17.41. The Lady Maroons also got the silver at 9:32.71 with Pricila Aquino, Bianca Reyes, Gabee Torres, and Angela Villamil. University of Santo Tomas’ Chia Reyes, Angelica Samelo, Clinyl Chuateco, and Joie Macatangay then took the bronze this time at 9:53.96.

#ReadMore  UP breaks six-year UAAP record, Ateneo still on verge of three-peat

Pamintuan took the other gold of the night with 2:26.75 in the 200-meter individual medley ahead of UP’s Castrillo and Nadine Tee Ten. Castrillo and Tee ten touched at 2:30.26 and 2:31.30, respectively, to get the silver and bronze.

The Lady Maroons remain in second with 74 points, while the Lady Green Tankers have 61.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


The 82nd season of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines may have not received a proper send-off due to the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19)...


Besides giving a home to volleyball players, the Premiere Volleyball League and the Spikers’ Turf are turning pro because in five years’ time, University...

3x3 Basketball

CALAMBA, LAGUNA — James Laput is not soft. From his match-ups with Ange Kouame and Bright Akhuetie in the UAAP, to his clashes with...


For leading University of the East to its eighth straight championships in the UAAP Men’s Fencing Championships, Sam Tranquilan was hailed as the school’s...


An influx of one-and-done recruits took the UAAP by storm in Season 82, and one who definitely turned heads was two-time CESAFI Most Valuable...


Deanna Wong had a magical run during UAAP Season 81, steering Ateneo’s return to the top of collegiate women’s volleyball.  But as remarkable as...


Gerry Abadiano, Carl Tamayo, and Kevin Quiambao all had heavy hearts when they decided to leave National University for college. The biggest factor was...


The two of them grew side by side into the players they are today, and so Carl Tamayo and Kevin Quiambao will forever cherish the...