Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Barredo goes 3-0 in MVP Badminton Cup as Villabrille-Padiz stun Pantig-Bernardo

Sarah Barredo swept all of her assignments to pace the winners on the opening day of the MVP Second Badminton Cup, Wednesday at the Olympic Badminton Center in Ugong, Pasig City. 

Barredo closed out her day with a comfortable win past Anthea Marie Gonzalez, 21-8, 21-13, to go undefeated in three matches. The National University product earlier took down Christel Rei Fuentespina, 21-6, 21-9, and dominated Angel Valle, 21-13, 21-11, to lead the women’s singles race.

The 22-year-old Barredo was happy to compete again after almost a year. She said, “Happy rin kasi nagkaroon kami ng tournament in preparation for the Southeast Asian Games.

“Yung preparation kasi namin since lockdown, ang dami ring hindrance for us to train. Pero at least nag-train ako ng maayos and I think prepared naman ako for this tournament,” she added.

A pair of fellow UAAP standouts in Jaja Andres and Mikaela De Guzman joined the UAAP Season 81 Rookie of the Year atop the standings at 3-0 for the day after winning over the same opponents.

UP’s Andres defeated Valle, 21-17, 21-10, then Gonzalez, 21-13, 21-13, before downing Fuentespina, 21-12, 21-13. Meanwhile, Ateneo’s De Guzman opened her tournament with a win over Gonzalez, 21-17, 21-15, before winning past Fuentespina, 21-8, 21-7, and Valle, 21-8, retired, in that order.

The three will test their mettle against each other on Thursday for a place in the final the following day.2nd-MVP-Badminton-Cup-Ros-Pedrosa-2-scaled Barredo goes 3-0 in MVP Badminton Cup as Villabrille-Padiz stun Pantig-Bernardo Badminton News  - philippine sports news

Ros Pedrosa and age-group standout Jewel Albo paced their group in the men’s singles as both went unscathed for the day.

#ReadMore  Execration releases Ken, Rupido

Pedrosa blanked Jefferson Oba-ob, 21-10, 21-14, before going through the wringer over former La Salle stalwart Kenneth Monterubio 22-20, 21-16. On the other hand, Albo comfortably won past Jefferson Oba-ob, 21-10, 21-13, and then over Robert Ishmael Ramos, 21-8, 21-12.

Mark Anthony Velasco and RJ Oba-ob paced the other pool with similar 2-0 win-loss records.

Velasco scored a 21-23, 21-13 victory over Lance Vargas before sweeping JM Estrada, 21-13, 21-14. while RJ Oba-ob had to outlast Vargas in three, 20-22, 21-16, 21-8, before closing the day’s action with a win over Clarence Villaflor, 21-19.21-13.2nd-MVP-Badminton-Cup-July-Villabrille-Solomon-Padiz-3-scaled Barredo goes 3-0 in MVP Badminton Cup as Villabrille-Padiz stun Pantig-Bernardo Badminton News  - philippine sports news

The men’s doubles saw a wild turn of events, but July Villabrille and Solomon Padiz took the lead with a 2-0 win-loss card.

The duo stunned long-time national mainstay Paul Pantig and new partner Christian Bernardo, 21-14, 21-11, and then ended the day with a victory over JM Bernardo and Michael Clemente, 21-16, 21-14.

Meanwhile in women’s doubles, veteran duos took control of their respective matches.2nd-MVP-Badminton-Cup-Thea-Pomar-Jochelle-Alvarez-2-scaled Barredo goes 3-0 in MVP Badminton Cup as Villabrille-Padiz stun Pantig-Bernardo Badminton News  - philippine sports news

Thea Pomar and Jochelle Alvarez took care of Susmita Ramos and Althea Fuentespina, 21-15, 21-17, in Group 1. On the other hand, Nicole Albo and Lea Inlayo defeated Aubrey Masongsong and Andrea Hernandez, 21-6, 21-7, in Group 2.

A grand total of P 200,000 is at stake for the winners of all the four events in this tournament backed by Smash Pilipinas, SMART, MVP Sports Foundation, the Philippine Olympic Committee, the Philippine Sports Commission, Leisure and Resorts World Corporation, Metro Pacific Investments, Concrete Stone Corp., and Robinson’s Land.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

Thea Pomar and Alvin Morada had the biggest chance of the day for the Philippine national badminton team, but ultimately lost a close three-set...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

The stage is set for the main draw of the Badminton Asian Championships 2022 after the qualification group stages of both the men’s and...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

Team Philippines’ 2022 SMART Badminton Asia Championships campaign begins on Tuesday, April 26 at the Muntinlupa Sports Complex. Starting at 9:00AM, the qualifying rounds...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

For the first time, the Philippines will be hosting a BWF World Tour Super 1000 tournament with the 2022 SMART Badminton Asia Championships set...

2021 SEA Games

SMASH Pilipinas head coach Rosman Razak finally had a chance to see the badminton players of our country during the MVP Second Badminton Cup...


Ros Pedrosa and Mikaela De Guzman posted contrasting victories to clinch the men’s and women’s singles titles of the MVP Second Badminton Cup, respectively,...


National team stalwart Ros Pedrosa took down upstart Jewel Angelo Albo in three sets, 10-21, 21-18, 21-12, to sweep Group B and book his...

2021 SEA Games

The country’s top badminton players will figure in their first tournament in two years as the Manny V. Pangilinan (MVP) Second Badminton Cup will...