Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Bacoor Strike rule M-League Reinforced Conference

Bacoor Strike sa Serbisyo emerged as the champion of the Metro League Reinforced (2nd) Conference, pulling off a 67-60 victory over Caloocan-Gerry’s Grill in their winner-take-all Game 3 on Saturday in front of its home crowd at the Strike Gym in Bacoor City, Cavite.

Mark Montuano and Mark Pangilinan sparked the Strikers’ scorching run in the fourth quarter on their way to a breakthrough title in the M-League that is backed by the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) and with Barangay 143 as league presentor.

It was a near-perfect championship run for Bacoor in this import-flavored conference that has SMS Global Technologies, Inc. as official livestream and technology partner, Spalding as official ball, Team Rebel Sports as official outfitter, PLDT as official internet service provider and Manila Bulletin as media partner.

Bacoor swept the South Division and only losing in Game 2 of the best-of-three finals. The Strikers finished the tourney which has Synergy 88, World Balance, Excellent Noodles and San Miguel Corporation as major sponsors, with an impressive 13-1 win-loss record.

Montuano fired a game-high 18 points, including seven markers in the crucial final frame, while Pangilinan sank three triples in the fourth en route to an 11-point production.

Down 43-47 heading to the last canto, Montuano and Pangilinan ignited a 19-5 blast to push Bacoor ahead, 62-52, with 3:34 remaining in the game.

Caloocan came back and closed within 60-64 behind Robbie Darang and Abdoulaye Niang but Eric Acuña sank two ice-cold free throws with 14 seconds left to seal the Strikers’ title-clinching win.

#ReadMore  SOURCES: Converge to tap Chito Salud as team governor

King Descamento, named Reinforced (2nd) Conference Most Valuable Player, also played huge with double-double of 13 points and 13 rebounds while Best Import Prince Orizu also tallied a double-double, finishing with 11 markers and 13 boards for Bacoor.

Darang had a team-best 13 points, Niang had 12 markers to go with 17 rebounds even as Johnnel Rey Bauzon and Reynaldo De Mesa had 11 points apiece in the sorry loss for the Supremos.

M-League officials headed by Metro Manila Sports Fest Chairman Bonnie Tan, along Finance Director Waiyip Chong, deputy tournament director Fidel Mangonon III, Commissioner Glenn Capacio, and technical committee head Lou Gatumbato handed out the champions’ trophies and individual awards after the games.

The Scores:

Bacoor Strike sa Serbisyo (67) – Montuano 18, Descamento 13, Orizu 11, Pangilinan 11, Miranda 6, Acuna 4, Malabag 3, Ochea 1, Aquino 0

Caloocan-Gerry’s Grill (60) – Darang 13, Niang 12, Bauzon 11, De Mesa 11, Brutas 7, Enriquez 6, De Leon 0, Tay 0

Quarterscores: 15-19, 29-28, 43-47, 67-60

Written By

You May Also Like


Defending champion Nueva Ecija showed that it is still the team to beat in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season, as they...


Bataan proved steadier at crunch time and prevailed over Negros, 67-64, on Thursday in the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season at the...


Bataan-Camaya Coast and Nueva Ecija cruised past their rivals while newcomer Quezon Province survived a war on Saturday as they shared the top spot...


Quezon staged a stunning comeback to beat Negros, 82-80, and join Bataan at the top of the OKBet-MPBL (Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League) Fifth Season...


Making it to the playoffs will be the main goal when the Quezon Huskers make their debut in the fifth season of the Maharlika...


Call it a perfect 10 for San Juan. Rence Nocum and prized forward Michael Calisaan showed the way as the Kings frustrated home team...


Centro Escolar University completed its dominance in the 5th PG Flex Linoleum-Universities and Colleges Basketball League (UCBL) with a 92-82 win over Olivarez College...


Bulacan made short work of San Pedro Laguna-ARS 102-69 last Thursday night to extend its winning run to three Manila Bankers Life-Pilipinas Super League...