Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Ateneo, UP rise to 3-0 after dominant outings in UAAP Women’s Badminton

The Ateneo de Manila University and University of the Philippines protected their unblemished 3-0 records in the UAAP Season 82 Women’s Badminton after blanking their respective foes, Sunday afternoon at the PNP Sports Center.

Defending champions Lady Eagles remain unperturbed after 15 straight matches after dealing the University of the East a 5-0 beating.

Ateneo co-captain Chanelle Lunod opened the day cruising past Patrice Reyes in 24 minutes at 21-6, 21-10 in the first singles match. Fellow skipper Geva De Vera likewise waylaid Graziel Cabriga in the following rubber at 21-12, 21-6.

Rookie Mika De Guzman and the returning Qianxi Orillaneda then clinched the eighth consecutive win of Ateneo stemming from last season, with an impressive outing at 21-3, 21-10 over Reyes and Justine Amposta.

Sam Ramos and Geia De Vera dominated Kessara Palot and Cabriga, 21-4, 21-17, before Amposta was forced to retire with Aly Roxas leading 18-8 at the first game due to an awkward fall resulting to hamstring injury.

De Vera was pleased with their performances so far this season, and hopes they can sustain it the rest of the way.

“Everyone’s playing great naman. Nagagawa nila yung plays nila, which is yun naman ang aim, to show our plays individually. Hindi namin iisipin yung iba, yung sa sarili namin muna,” she said.

“We’re still work in progress pa rin talaga, so we’re aiming for more positive outcomes.”

UP also stayed undefeated with a 5-0 win over the University of Santo Tomas, capped with a victory from former Tigress Shuttler Airish Macalino.

#ReadMore  ITF: Alcantara, Japanese partner claim semis spot in Indonesia

Jaja Andres and Aldreen Concepcion had to outlast Kristeen Geronimo and Elij Pena to put the Lady Maroons in the lead at 2-0. Andres came back from a set down to upend Geronimo, 13-21, 21-13, 21-11, before Concepcion stopped Pena’s late run in the third at 21-6, 14-21, 21-18.

Andres and fellow sophomore Tricia Opon then kept UP’s winning streak after sweeping Samantha Chozas and Therese Tumbali at 21-13, 21-11.

Rookies Marie Lopez and Andrea Abalos convincingly won over Geronimo and Stephanie Mortera at 21-10, 21-12, before Macalino won over Mortera at 21-13, 21-13.

Keeping in step with the leaders, De La Salle University carved their second win this season after a 4-1 triumph over Adamson University.

Captain and national standout Iyah Sevilla shook off Lizette Dela Cueva in the first singles match at 21-9, 21-18, before Clydel Pada leveled the outing for the Lady Falcons with a 21-14, 21-12 sweep of Palma Cruz.

That was Adamson’s last hurrah as the two doubles pairs of La Salle took care of the tie.

Sevilla and Kanna Baba gunned down Pada and Monica Magallanes at 21-14, 21-15 in the first of the doubles rubber. Afterward, Cruz and Mia Mangulimotan swept Chloe Pedraja and Jhay Anne Macabenta at 21-10, 21-7. Baba completed the rout for the Lady Shuttlers after a 21-8, 21-18 conquest of Janine San Ignacio.

Written By

You May Also Like


When the UAAP Season 85 women’s badminton tournament started, then-reigning back-to-back Most Valuable Player Chanelle Lunod just wanted the Ateneo de Manila University squad...


Chanelle Lunod steered Ateneo de Manila University for one last time, carrying the Blue Eagles to their third straight UAAP women’s badminton title after...


University of the Philippines booked a return trip to the Finals after a clinical 5-0 rout of University of Santo Tomas on the final...


Ateneo de Manila University secured a return trip to the final after downing National University, 3-2, in day four of the UAAP Season 85...


Chanelle Lunod delivered to keep Ateneo de Manila University’s record in the UAAP Season 85 women’s badminton tournament intact with a 3-2 decision over...


The year has been nothing but good so far for young badminton stalwart Mika De Guzman as she made a mark as soon as...


Ateneo de Manila University and University of the Philippines fashioned differing wins, notching their second straight wins in the UAAP Season 85 Women’s Badminton,...


Ateneo de Manila University starts off its bid for a third straight crown with a rousing sweep of Adamson University, 5-0, in the UAAP...