Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


23-strong PWNFT all set for second round of Olympic Qualifiers

With the country’s backs against the wall, the Philippine Football Federation did not hold back.

The Philippine Women’s National Football Team is set to take on Iran, Chinese Taipei, and Palestine for the second round of Asian qualifiers to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Football Tournament.

Currently ranked No. 74 in the world, the team progressed to this stage after a successful first round last November, where they registered three wins against Singapore, Tajikistan and Mongolia and one loss against Chinese Taipei.

For the ladies to progress to the third round, they will need to finish top of their group.

Far Eastern University’s Let Dimzon extends her tenure as the head coach. She has selected 23 players to bring to Doha, Qatar.

Holdovers from five months ago include team captain Patrice Impelido (Hiraya FC), co-captain Inna Palacios (Green Archers United FC), Camille Rodriguez (Hiraya FC), Hali Long (Green Archers United FC), Alesa Dolino (OutKast FC), Patricia Tomanon (Florida International University), Mea Bernal (OutKast FC) and Analou Amita (OutKast FC).

Players of De La Salle University and Far Eastern University have been released by their schools, with the UAAP season on break to give way to the tournament. They are Sara Castañeda, Irish Navaja, Alisha Del Campo, Chelo Hodges, Christina Montelibano, and Rocelle Mendaño for DLSU; and then Hannah Faith Pachejo, Kimberly Pariña, and Mary Harriette of FEU.

Eva Madarang (Rogers State University), Stacey Cavill (Perth Glory), Joyce Semacio (Miriam College High School) and Calah Simarago (UC Santa Barbara) represented in other tournaments last year and are back on the squad.

#ReadMore  What Jema Galanza learned from her three Adamson coaches

Another notable return is Loreta Ladero (OutKast FC), who last suited up for the country in 2012. Tara Shelton (Holy Names Academy), who previously played for Dimzon with the U-16 team, rounds up the cast.

Tonight the Pinays will open their campaign against Iran (No. 66) at 1:00 a.m. They will next meet their first-round nemesis Chinese Taipei (No. 40) on Sunday, April 7 at 1:00 a.m. before closing out against Palestine (No. 111) on Wednesday, April 10 at 12:00 midnight. All times are in Philippine standard time.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Filipino-French Katrina Guillou is set to make her Philippine Women’s National Football Team debut come the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup which takes place...

Bandwagon Wire

It was not too long ago when athletes from the Philippines were recruited to play as imports abroad were an uncommon occurrence. There seemed...


With the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup hosted by India just one month away, the Philippine Women’s National Football Team is dead set in...


Philippine Women’s National Football Team head coach Alen Stajic had a gut feeling that he would meet his former team Australia in the 2022...


Newly-tapped Philippine Women’s National Football Team head coach Alen Stajcic will get to face his old team in the 2022 AFC Women’s Asian Cup....


The Philippine Football Federation (PFF) has appointed Australian coach Alen Stajcic as head coach of the Philippine Women’s Football National Team (PWFNT). One of...


PLDT and its wireless unit Smart Communications, Inc. (Smart), through the MVP Sports Foundation (MVPSF) bolster their support for the Philippine Women’s National Football...


It’s not just in basketball and volleyball that see Filipinos being tapped as imports in Japan. In the pioneering WE.League of Japan, two of...