Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Vice Co. breezes past Army in debut

Backed by one of the most well-known celebrities in the country, the Vice Co. Blockbusters successfully debuted in the Premier Volleyball League Reinforced Conference, drilling the Philippine Army Troopers, 25-13, 25-16, 27-29, 25-21, at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

Vice Co., flanked mostly by UAAP Season 80 bronze medalists FEU Tamaraws, played consistently throughout the match. The Blockbusters strutted their decisive youth advantage, attacking at a 47 percent clip and limting their errors to 21 compared to Army’s 34.

“Sabi ko nga sa mga players na mas bata tayo, mas kundisyon tayo, so kailangan ipakita natin ‘yung advantage,” said head coach Rey Diaz. “So may pressure nga din sa amin kasi kilala ‘yung pangalan dahil kay Vice. Pero kaya namin i-handle.”

Peter Quiel led the Blockbusters with 14 points, which included three blocks. Pao Pablico and Berlin Paglinawan managed 13 markers apiece.

Benjaylo Labide topped the Troopers with 20 points, while returning PJ Rojas added 15 markers.

The Scores

Vice Co. (3) – Quiel 14, Pablico 13, Paglinawan 13, Bugaoan 12, Garcia 5, Paler 5, Solis 3, Ramos 2, Suarez 1, Silang 0, Marmeto (L)

Army (1) – Labide 20, Rojas 15, Villonson 8, Depamaylo J. 6, Torres 5, Ramirez 2, Barrica 0, Bayking 0, Buloaloa 0, Depamaylo N. 0, Uy (L)

#ReadMore  La Salle sweeps UST to seal twice-to-beat incentive
Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like


The very first game in the 2022 Premier Volleyball League Open Conference will feature F2 Logistics. And set to welcome the Cargo Movers to...


Chery Tiggo will have a tough title defense of the Premier Volleyball League Open Conference, which begins on March 26 at Paco Arena in...


LBC Ronda Pilipinas will hold its 11th edition with 13 teams seeing action in the 10-stage race unfurling in Sorsogon City on March 11...


The 2022 Premier Volleyball League Open Conference will still push through. Originally targeted to begin on February 16, 2022, the first conference of the...


LIPA CITY, BATANGAS — Petro Gazz claimed third place in the Philippine National Volleyball Federation after taking down Tuguegarao Perlas, 25-11, 26-24, 19-25, 25-20...


LIPA CITY, BATANGAS — F2 Logistics moved on the cusp of the Philippine National Volleyball League Champions League title after sweeping Tuguegarao, 25-18, 25-18,...


Tuguegarao Perlas surged to its second consecutive win in the Philippine National Volleyball Federation Champions League after sweeping Baguio, 25-10, 25-5, 25-14 at the...


Chery Tiggo capitalized on Perlas’ late errors to take its first win in the Philippine National Volleyball Federation Champions League, 25-21, 20-25, 25-14, 25-23,...