Connect with us
[adinserter block="13"] [adinserter block="3"]


Marck Espejo, Ateneo continue to dominate



Philippine Sports News - Tiebreaker Times Marck Espejo, Ateneo continue to dominate ADMU CSB News PVL Volleyball  Saint Benilde Men's Volleyball Oliver Almadro Marck Espejo Manuel Sumanguid Janjan Rivera Ish Polvorosa Isaah Arda Ateneo Men's Volleyball Arnold Laniog 2017 PVL Season 2017 PVL Men's Collegiate Conference

The Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles remained on top of the Premier Volleyball League Collegiate Conference with a sweep of the College of Saint Benilde Blazers, 25-13, 25-22, 25-22, at the FilOil Flying V Centre.

Again leading the Blue Eagles was Marck Espejo. The four-time UAAP MVP was near-unstoppable, providing 17 points that came off a tremendous 15-for-20 attacking clip.

According to Ateneo head coach Oliver Almadro, the graduating Espejo’s prolific scoring is just a part of his renewed leadership role.

“Marck will always be a great scorer. What he has improved in now that he’s in his fifth year with the team is his leadership,” the fiery mentor said.

“He and everyone on the knows na our goals can only be acheived if we do it as a team. We’re still working on a lot of things because we have players in new roles. But our veterans naman know when to step up,” Almadro added.

The Blue Eagles banked on solid execution and reception to clinch the win. After breezing past the Blazers in the opening frame, the Blue Eagles had to stave off late spirited rallies in the following sets. Their plays off their reception and defense allowed the two-time PVL champs to seal their victories.

Winger Janjan Rivera added nine points for Ateneo, while setter Ish Polvorosa tossed 30 excellent sets. The Blue Eagles have yet to be defeated in the PVL since the tournament started as the Spikers’ Turf two years ago.

Team captain Isaah Arda topped the Blazers with 11 points. CSB have yet to win in three matches.

The Scores

ADMU (3) – Espejo 17, Rivera 9, Njigha 7, Baysa 6, Glorioso 6, Polvorosa 2, Medalla 1, Magadia 0, Tan 0, Trinidad 0, Sumanguid (L)

CSB (0) – Arda 11, Basilan 7, Abrot 5, Orian 5, San Miguel 2, Bautista 1, Bacani 0, Magsino 0, Saldiva 0, Garcia (L)


Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.