Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Winning Sportsmanship Award is Norwood’s personal tribute to Samboy Lim

Gabe Norwood made history after earning the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award in the 44th Leo Awards, Sunday.

According to PBA stats chief Fidel Mangonon III, the Rain or Shine Elasto Painters lifer has tied Freddie Abuda and Rey Evangelista for the most number of the said plum.

Norwood, though, is the only player to have won the Sportsmanship Award thrice consecutively.

The 35-year-old feels humbled to win the award named after its first-ever recipient in 1993.

“It’s humbling to be associated with Samboy and knowing his work,” he said moments after the awarding ceremonies held before the league’s Season 45 opener at the SMART Araneta Coliseum.

“I got to meet him when I first got in the league, and kinda understanding his situation now, it’s truly a blessing,” the 11-year-year veteran added.

“It’s something I take seriously, and yeah, just awesome.”

Also considered for the award were six-time MVP June Mar Fajardo, Troy Rosario, Meralco teammates Baser Amer and Chris Newsome, Mac Belo, and Elasto Painter Rey Nambatac.

Now that he enters another season of his decorated career, Norwood vowed to keep on showing the character that makes him one of the most revered players in the league.

“Just to respect the game, respect your opponents, and go out and compete at a high level. And at the end of the day, you know, just leave it all out there on the court.”

#ReadMore  Kouame can't wait to don Gilas' colors: 'I really want to be a part of it'
Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

You May Also Like


Rain or Shine continued its resurgence in the 2022 PBA Philippine Cup, stunning Blackwater, 107-90, Wednesday at the SMART Araneta Coliseum. The Elasto Painters...


Rain or Shine finally arrested its six-game skid, taking down NLEX, 96-86, in the 2022 PBA Philippine Cup, Saturday at the SMART Araneta Coliseum....


Meralco needed a bit of luck to survive Rain or Shine, 77-73, to arrest a two-game skid in the PBA Philippine Cup, Wednesday at...


Rain or Shine did not have two of its stars in its marquee match-up with Ginebra in the 2022 PBA Philippine Cup, Wednesday night....


Javee Mocon was not part of Rain or Shine’s 14-man lineup. Save for negotiations, the versatile 6-foot-3 forward has not appeared in the Elasto...


Mike Nieto had a sensational PBA debut as he led Rain or Shine past NorthPort, 104-90, in the Governors’ Cup, Saturday night at SMART...


The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) named 12 players who will serve as league ambassadors to the upcoming East Asia Super League (EASL) season. The...


Rain or Shine came from behind and extended the rejigged Blackwater’s record of futility by way of a 92-79 decision for a victorious start...