Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Valdez, Reyes headline varied National Team pool

One for Philippine Volleyball

2015 SEA Games flag bearer Alyssa Valdez and 2016 PSA Miss Volleyball Mika Reyes are among the top names of the 24-woman pool for the 2017 National Team that will compete in the AVC Seniors tournament in Manila and SEA Games on August.

The list also includes Pocari Sweat anchors and two-time V-League champions Myla Pablo and Elaine Kasilag; twin towers Jaja Santiago and Dindin Santiago-Manabat; international competition veterans Rachel Anne Daquis and Jovelyn Gonzaga; and one of the best setters in the country, Kim Fajardo.

Collegiate standouts Kay Tolentino and Maddie Madayag of the Ateneo de Manila University; Kianna Dy and Dawn Macandili of the De La Salle University; and Kath Arado and Roselle Baliton of France Vicente’s own University of the East also cracked the stacked lineup.

Here is the full list:

Alyssa Valdez
Mika Reyes
Jaja Santiago
Rachel Anne Daquis
Jovelyn Gonzaga
Aby Marano
Dindin Manabat
Lourdes Clemente
Gen Casugod
Maika Ortiz
Marivic Meneses
Aiza Maizo-Pontillas
Myla Pablo
Gretchel Soltones
Elaine Kasilag
Roselle Baliton
Rhea Dimaculangan
Kim Fajardo
Denden Lazaro
Kath Arado
Kat Tolentino
Maddie Maddayag
Kim Dy
Dawn Macandili

The team’s chief mentor is Francis Vicente.

#ReadMore  Yana Bautista's dad launches healthcare information system project
Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

You May Also Like


Myla Pablo has made the decision to write a new chapter with a different team. Virtual Playground has announced that the 5-foot-10 spiker out...


Akari’s frontline has become bigger as the team signed middle blockers Dindin Santiago-Manabat and Cams Victoria. The team made the announcement over the day....


F2 Logistics has opted not to renew six players heading into the 2023 Premier Volleyball League season. The most surprising of which was Tine...


Dindin Santiago-Manabat will no longer be part of Chery Tiggo in the upcoming 2023 season of the Premier Volleyball League. The Crossovers made the...

Beach Volleyball

SUBIC — Sisi Rondina and Jovelyn Gonzaga beat Genesa Jane “Gen” Eslapor and Floremel Rodriguez, 22-24, 21-12, 15-12, in a three-set women’s final of...

Beach Volleyball

SUBIC—Sisi Rondina and Jovelyn Gonzaga and Gen Eslapor and Dij Rodriguez disposed of their respective foes from Japan on Saturday to guarantee the Philippines...

Beach Volleyball

SUBIC—Sisi Rondina and Jovelyn Gonzaga didn’t only eliminate opponents from Canada and the Czech Republic, but more importantly, beat the pressure to win at...


After five long years, Myla Pablo returned to the top of the Premier Volleyball League. Pablo hoisted the championship trophy once again on Tuesday...