Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UST owns top individual plums as Chabi Yo, Irebu set to win MVP

University of Santo Tomas has secured the top two individual plums in the UAAP Season 82 Collegiate Basketball Tournament. 

Beninese student-athlete Soulemane Chabi Yo and Congolese Grace Irebu are set to win the Most Valuable Player plums in the Men’s and Women’s Basketball divisions, respectively.

Chabi Yo accumulated 76.0 statistical points, built on his averages of 16.9 points, 14.7 rebounds, and 1.3 assists.

He led the Growling Tigers to an 8-6 record.

On the other hand, Irebu copped her second MVP tiara after amassing a whopping 90 SPs. She averaged 21.9 points, 15.1 rebounds, 1.7 steals, 1.5 blocks, powering the Growling Tigresses to the second seed with an 11-3 slate.

This is the first time in six years that the MVPs come from one school. The last time this happened, Terrence Romeo and Camille Sambile did it for Far Eastern University.

Composing the Men’s Mythical Five team are Chabi Yo; the La Salle duo of Justine Baltazar (64.0 SPs) and Jamie Malonzo (63.23); University of the Philippines’ Kobe Paras (62.08); and University of the East’s Rey Suerte (60.93).

For the distaff’s side, Irebu is joined by Adamson’s Mar Prado (86); National University’s Jack Animam (78.57); Far Eastern University’s Clare Castro (66.64); and La Salle’s Kent Pastrana (57.0).

Taking the Rookie of the Year awards are UST’s Mark Nonoy (39.29) and Pastrana.

Nonoy and Chabi Yo become the first duo to achieve this feat in 10 years. Back in Season 72, Dylan Ababou won MVP honors while Jeric Teng was crowned as the top freshman.

#ReadMore  Spain ends Perlas 3X3's QF hopes, weathers Janine Pontejos explosion

The awarding ceremony will take place on Wednesday, November 20, at 2:30 pm over at the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay City.

Written By

You May Also Like


San Miguel stars June Mar Fajardo and CJ Perez kept their hold of the top two spots in the 2022 PBA Philippine Cup Best...


It’s not just Northport’s Jamie Malonzo who has been cleared by FIBA to play as a local for Gilas Pilipinas. Tiebreaker Times has learned...


Justin Arana came in clutch as Converge pumped life to its playoff hopes, sending Blackwater to its fourth straight demise, 92-90, in the 2022...


Ginebra broke out of its two-game funk, dimming even more the playoff hopes of Northport, 100-93, in the 2022 PBA Philippine Cup at the...


Northport kept its playoff hopes alive after snapping a six-game losing skid with a narrow 95-92 victory over Phoenix in the 2022 PBA Philippine...


San Miguel continued its hot streak, stretching it to five straight wins at the expense of the hot Blackwater in overtime, 110-107, in the...


RK Ilagan lifted Converge to its first-ever winning streak in franchise history, while stretching NorthPort’s skid to six games, 104-98, Saturday night in the...


EcoOil-De La Salle University will be without three of its top guards in the 2022 PBA D-League Aspirants Cup. Deschon Winston, Evan Nelle, and...