Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

UE Tennisters deny ADMU first win

With the second elimination round of the UAAP Tennis Championship nearing its end, the ADMU Blue Tennisters stepped it up in the hopes of obtaining their first win. Sadly for the Katipunan-based tennisters, the UE squadron did not want anything to do with the Blue Tennisters’ first victory, who were once again denied of that opportunity.

While starting with a setback after the fall of UE’s Jeleardo Amazona against Ino Canlas in a three-set matchup which ended 2-6, 6-3, 2-6, the UE squadron nevertheless entered the courts with all guns blazing as they proceeded to obliterate their opponents.

For the singles matches, UE’s first win came from the hands of Rodolfo Barquin who easily overwhelmed Ateneo’s AJ Rivero to end the match with a one-sided double 6-0 win. His victory in the second singles match was also followed by another triumph from the third and last singles match as UE’s Joshua Kinaadman gained retribution by defeating Iyo Canlas 6-4, 6-2, to avenge the fall of Barquin.

Compared to the singles matches, the doubles matches ended in an overwhelming victory for the UE squad as they denied the ADMU Blue Tennisters a single win. Starting off the assault in the doubles category, the duo of Rolly Saga and Rogelio Estano easily overwhelmed the defences of ADMU’s Anton Punzalan and Erj Gatdula as they smashed their way through for a 6-3, 6-1 win. Their victory was soon followed by the duo of Menrado Soriano and Paolo Baran who, like their comrades, also smashed through their assignments, Gio Bilog and Johann Exconde, 6-4, 6-3.

Written By

You May Also Like