Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


UP hand Sarah Barredo-led NU first loss; La Salle bounces back

A dramatic third day in the UAAP Season 81 Women’s Badminton Tournament ensued Saturday afternoon at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall.

In perhaps the most anticipated tie of the qualifying rounds, former three-peat champions University of the Philippines Lady Maroons denied the national athlete-powered National University Lady Bulldogs of staining their immaculate record in eliminations.

The Fighting Maroons have extended it to 29 after the narrow 3-2 win.

UP’s Poca Alcala easily finished off Jiselle Capillo in the first singles match in just two games. Expectedly, national player and NU rookie Sarah Barredo had equalized, but not without a scare from UAAP Season 78 Rookie of the Year Lea Inlayo and getting it done in three games.

Nonetheless, the doubles pairs took it for the former UAAP champions from Diliman.

Alcala swept her assignments as she and long-time partner Jessie Francisco brushed aside Capillo and Jeya Pinlac in two games at the first doubles match. Inlayo, along with Ann Marañon, then plucked a huge revenge over Barredo in the second doubles match, as the former Rookies of the Year came from behind to stop the NU newbie and Sydney Open bronze medalist Thea Pomar in three sets.

Pomar the salvaged a win in the final singles match over UP rookie Jaja Andres in two.

Knowing the difficult task at hand, team captain Jessie Francisco said that the Maroons just remained focused. “Alam naman namin na isa sila sa pinakamalakas na makakalaban namin this season. We just played our game, laban lang at enjoy the game,” the UAAP Season 77 MVP said.

#ReadMore  Lunod, De Vera steer Ateneo past UP to book Final Four ticket

Over in the other courts, reigning champions De La Salle University Lady Shuttlers and the University of Santo Tomas Golden Shuttlers both produced 5-0 sweeps of the Adamson University Lady Falcons and the University of the East Lady Warriors, respectively, but in different fashions.UAAP-81-WBD-ADMU-def-DLSU-Sevilla-Albo UP hand Sarah Barredo-led NU first loss; La Salle bounces back AdU Badminton DLSU News NU UAAP UE UP UST  - philippine sports news

Last year’s champions from Taft denied their avenue-mates Lady Falcons as reigning Most Valuable Player Nicole Albo and team captain Iyah Sevilla swept their assignments over Clydel Pada and Mikaela Aquino.

Albo took down Pada in the first singles match, before Sevilla defeated her opposite number Aquino in the second singles contest. Both matches just needed two games. The La Salle pair eventually completed the run over these two Adamsonians, taking a two-game second doubles win.

Rookie Kanna Baba followed her seniors’ example after taking both her two matches as well. The newbie and her fellow frosh Victoria Yason outlasted Alyssa San Pedro and Jhay Anne Macabenta in the first doubles match to seal the win. Baba then stopped Macabenta in two in the third singled match.

The Tigresses on their part stopped an eight-match losing skid after denying the Lady Red Warriors, but not without much incident. UST already had it in the bag prior to this event.

Rookie Steph Mortera clinched her first-ever UAAP win after dominating Kessara Palot in two games. Her team captain Kate Tating then made it 2-0 in another sweep of her counterpart Erycka Labay.

Trailing 11-16 and with her skipper Labay on her side, Laville Laborte stumbled on her way to the shuttle and twisted her ankle. She tried to recover, but she could not and was eventually sent to the UE Ramon Magsaysay Memorial Medical Center.

#ReadMore  Ouano scores brace as Azkals U23 start AFF tourney with Timor Leste draw

The result is walk over wins for UST as Laborte was supposed to play the final singles match.

Grew to appreciate various sports from tennis to judo. True-maroon kiddo since the new millennium. Fanboy. Singer. Occasional sports writer.

You May Also Like

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

Thea Pomar and Alvin Morada had the biggest chance of the day for the Philippine national badminton team, but ultimately lost a close three-set...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

Team Philippines’ 2022 SMART Badminton Asia Championships campaign begins on Tuesday, April 26 at the Muntinlupa Sports Complex. Starting at 9:00AM, the qualifying rounds...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

For the first time, the Philippines will be hosting a BWF World Tour Super 1000 tournament with the 2022 SMART Badminton Asia Championships set...


Ros Pedrosa and Mikaela De Guzman posted contrasting victories to clinch the men’s and women’s singles titles of the MVP Second Badminton Cup, respectively,...


National team stalwart Ros Pedrosa took down upstart Jewel Angelo Albo in three sets, 10-21, 21-18, 21-12, to sweep Group B and book his...


Sarah Barredo swept all of her assignments to pace the winners on the opening day of the MVP Second Badminton Cup, Wednesday at the...

2021 SEA Games

The country’s top badminton players will figure in their first tournament in two years as the Manny V. Pangilinan (MVP) Second Badminton Cup will...

Air Badminton

Two members of Smash Pilipinas were able to try out the outdoor variation of badminton, airbadminton, last weekend.  Ros Pedrosa and Sarah Barredo figured...