Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Aldo Batungbacal, Ateneo off to blazing start; La Salle takes relay events

As expected, the Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles ruled the first day of action by bringing home three gold medals, three silver medals, and one bronze medal in the 80th UAAP Swimming Championships at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex Swimming Pool.

At the forefront of Ateneo’s campaign once again is reigning MVP and team captain Alberto Batungbacal, who swam two individual events, finishing first in the 800m Freestyle (8:44.43) and second in the 200m Individual Medley (2:11.47) to collect 27 points to lead all swimmers.

Sticking close to Batungbacal in the MVP race is the De La Salle University’s debuting transferee Fahad Alkhaldi, who took home a silver medal in the 800m Freestyle (8:52.11) and a bronze medal in the 100m Freestyle (54.04) giving him 22 points.

DLSU also ruled both relay events for the day as Neil Puyo, Skyler Claveria, Red Silvestre, and Alfonso Bautista teamed up in the 4x50m Medley Relay to land first in 1:49.73 ahead of Ateneo (1:51.58) and the University of the Philippines (1:53.36). The quartet of Sage Yabut, Lance So, Richmond Santos and Alkhaldi topped the 4x200m Freestyle Relay in 8:09.64, clearly in front of UP (8:15.08) and Ateneo (8:22.86).

But the individual events were still dominated by Ateneo, as two-time MVP Jessie Lacuna defended his 200m Individual Medley title by registering a time of 2:06.93. Blue-chip recruit Miguel Barlisan comfortably conquered the 100m Freestyle in 52.56 followed by his teammate Jethro Chua who notched a time of 53.56.

Barlisan, whose older brother Adel was the team captain during Ateneo’s historic first Men’s UAAP title in Season 75, shared that he was “both excited and nervous” to finally compete in the UAAP after having a successful NCAA career representing La Salle Greenhills in the juniors’ division.

#ReadMore  PBA: Bishop outduels Brownlee as Meralco fends off Ginebra, goes to 4-0

Although DLSU are inching closer to Ateneo in the team tally as the years go by, the Blue Eagles — who chase a fourth straight title — seem to still have the right weapons in their arsenal to thwart an uprising by their archrivals from Taft.

UAAP Season 80 Men’s Swimming tally after Day 1

ADMU – 105
DLSU – 81
UP – 45
UST – 25
AdU – 10
UE – 8
NU – 6

On Deck

400m Freestyle
50m Breaststroke
100m Butterfly
200m Backstroke
4x100m Freestyle Relay
The Preliminary Session begins at 8:30am while the Finals Session begins at 3:00pm.

Written By

Aldo is an ultimate sports enthusiast who watches and plays a multitude of sports like basketball, volleyball, swimming and water polo. His heart bleeds blue as he graduated in Jesuit institutions and is currently employed in one. Purefoods (or whatever name they call it now) in the PBA and the LA Lakers in the NBA are his favorite basketball teams.

You May Also Like


Many recognize the late Chino Trinidad for his dynamic presence as a sports commentator, his authoritative voice resonating through PBA games and the ringside...


Phillip Joaquin Santos, Marco Daos, and Rafael Barreto made sure that Ateneo de Manila University finished what has been a dominant swim in the...


University of the Philippines super rookie Quendy Fernandez featured for the Fighting Maroons in three of the five individual events, bringing home one gold...


Rian Tirol made a significant impact for Ateneo de Manila University on the second day of the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Swimming Championships on...


Ateneo de Manila University kicked off its drive for an ‘eight-peat’ in the UAAP Men’s Swimming Championships, taking home two golds, two silvers, and...


Mandaluyong Namayan scored a massive upset on Sunday at the San Andres Gymnasium in Manila, handing Taytay its first loss in the National Capital...


Ateneo de Manila University annexed a seventh consecutive title in UAAP men’s swimming after finishing strong on the final day of the Season 85...


Ateneo de Manila University pulled through still in a tight battle against De La La Salle University and University of the Philippines with 300...