Connect with us


Blue Eagles keep season alive with win over Fighting Maroons



Tiebreaker Times Blue Eagles keep season alive with win over Fighting Maroons ADMU News Tennis UAAP UP  UP Men's Tennis UAAP Season 79 Men's Tennis UAAP Season 79 Marcen Gonzales Luke Flores Julian Dayrit Joshua Cano Ino Canlas Erj Gatdula Ateneo Men's Tennis Anton Punzalan

Just like a season ago, the two Katipunan-based schools split their assignments.

The Ateneo de Manila University Blue Eagles avenged their first round loss, upending the University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons, 4-1, to take their third win of the season, Sunday at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

Maroon third-year player Joshua Cano started the day with a thorough win over AJ Rivero, 6-1, 6-4. The win, however, turned out to be the Diliman squad’s lone victory of the day.

Ino Canlas displayed his dominant form and stayed undefeated after finishing off Mikko Ringia, 6-0, 6-1, in the second singles match. Following that up was Marcen Gonzales who took care of rookie Joel Atienza, 6-1, 6-1.

The Blue Eagles also pocketed both doubles matches after their usual pairs delivered the goods.

Anton Punzalan and Julian Dayrit fended off the spurts of Kyle Joseph and Vincent Alanis, 6-2, 6-2, in the first one.

On the other hand, Erj Gatdula and Luke Flores had to shake off the fiesty duo from the other side of Katipunan Mimo Tomacruz and Gabriel Guttierez, 7-5, 6-3.

Ateneo (3-4) will look to continue their uphill climb when they face the league-leading University of the East Red Warriors (6-1) on Wednesday, March 8 at 2pm.

The Fighting Maroons (1-6), on the other hand, will try to snap their struggles when they take on the University of Santo Tomas Male Tennisters (4-2) earlier that day.

READ  Rusty Akeem Christmas looks to move on from disappointing debut