Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times

Beach Volleyball

Two Philippine pairs move on to Round-of-12

The Pinay pairs of Sisi Rondina and Dzi Gervacio, and Lot Catubag and Karen Quilario came away with one win apiece on Friday, in the first round of the 2018 FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour Manila Open at the SM Sands By the Bay.

Rondina and Gervacio pulled off a surprising sweep against towering Americans Lindsay Fuller and Kaley Melville (21-12, 21-16) in their morning match, before succumbing to Spanish duo Paula Sorra and Maria Belen Carro (20-22, 21-23).

The pair from Tagum Catubag and Quilario went cold in their first outing against Dutch tandem Katja Stam and Julia Wouters (13-21, 11-21), before keeping their tournament hopes alive with a tight win against Hong Kong’s Yuen Ting Chi and Au Yeung Wai Yan (21-13, 18-21, 15-11).

A proud Cebuana, Rondina shared that her and the rest of the Philippine contingent were inspired by the home crowd.

“Nilaro lang namin. Ako, honestly, hindi ako sila pinuri na, ‘Uy ang lalaki nila, ang tatangkad nila.’ Parang shino-showcase ko na lang kung ano ang kaya kong gawin na kayang ipagmalaki ng mga Pilipinong nanonood sa amin,” said one of the most decorated local beach players.

The hosts squads move on to the Round-of-12. Catinag and Quilario face Thai pair Pawarun Chanthawichai and Thadsarida Singchuea, while Rondina and Gervacio take on Candians Megan Nady and Caleigh Cruickshank at 8:50 a.m.

Other Philippine bets did not fare well.

Beach Volleyball Republic founders Charo Soriano and Bea Tan fell to Japan’s Ayumi Kusano and Takemi Nishibori (10-21, 9-21), and to Nagy and Cruickshank (12-21, 15-21). DM Demontaño and Jackie Estoquia, on the other hand, dropped to Germans Klink Leonie and Lisa-Sophie Kotzan (16-21, 12-21), and Paraguay pair Michelle Amarilla and Erika Bobadilla (19-21, 13-21).

#ReadMore  June Mar Fajardo looking to exact revenge on Hotshots

All four local men’s teams — Kevin Juban and Raphy Abanto, Calvin Sarte and Jade Becaldo, Ranran Abdilla and Edwin Tolentino, and KR Guzman and James Pecaña — also failed to move on to the next round.

Written By

Miguel Luis Flores fell face first into sports writing in high sch9l and has never gotten up. He reluctantly stumbled into the volleyball beat when he started with Tiebreaker Times three years ago. Now, he has waded through everything volleyball - from its icky politics to the post-modern art that is Jia Morado's setting.

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Dzi Gervacio’s return to indoor volleyball came as a surprise to many – not because of her comeback, but because of the team she...


Another Premier Volleyball League club has taken a leave for the upcoming 2022 season. Perlas has announced that it won’t participate in the country’s...


Dzi Gervacio is back in indoor volleyball. But it won’t be with Perlas. In a shock announcement, F2 Logistics announced that it has added...


Sta. Lucia will not be taking part in the 2022 season of the Premier Volleyball League. The company has decided to take a leave...

Beach Volleyball

Sisi Rondina is raising fund for the victims of Typhoon Odette. A few moments after finally gaining signal, the 25-year-old beach volleyball star immediately...


LIPA CITY, BATANGAS — Go for Gold-Air Force averted a huge upset from VNS, 23-25, 25-23, 19-25, 25-23, 15-11 to kick-start its PNVF Champions...

Beach Volleyball

Jude Garcia and Krung Arbasto made sure this will not be the Philippines’ last day in Phuket. The two-time Beach Volleyball Republic champions completed...

Beach Volleyball

Sisi Rondina and Bernadeth Pons absorbed two contrasting defeats while Dij Rodriguez and Genesa Eslapor arrested their skid in the 2021 Asian Senior Beach...