Connect with us


Scottie Thompson, June Mar Fajardo top All-Star voting



Tiebreaker Times Scottie Thompson, June Mar Fajardo top All-Star voting Basketball News PBA  Terrence Romeo Sonny Thoss Scottie Thompson Roger Pogoy Rafi Reavis PJ Simon PBA Season 43 Paul Lee Mark Caguioa Mark Barroca Marcio Lassiter Marc Pingris Mac Belo LA Tenorio Kiefer Ravena June Mar Fajardo JP Erram Joe Devance Jio Jalalon Jeff Chan Jayson Castro Japeth Aguilar James Yap Greg Slaughter Cyrus Baguio Chris Ross Calvin Abueva Baser Amer Arwind Santos Alex Cabagnot Aldrech Ramos 2018 PBA All-Star Game

Scottie Thompson and June Mar Fajardo showed the way in the fans voting for the 2018 PBA All-Star Games.

The third-year Barangay Ginebra San Miguel guard was the top vote-winner after tallying a strong 33,068 votes to lead the Mindanao selection, while the 6-foot-10 San Miguel Beermen standout came in a close second with 32,135 to lead the Visayas team.

The All-Star Week will be held from May 23 to 27 in the provinces of Davao del Sur, Batangas, and Iloilo, pitting Gilas Pilipinas against a selection of teams representing Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

Mark Barroca of the Magnolia Hotshots and the Rain or Shine Elasto Painters’ James Yap are the two other players to breach the 30,000 vote barrier.

Barroca is number two in Mindanao behind Thompson with 31,810, while Yap garnered 30,203 to finish second in Visayas after Fajardo.

Japeth Aguilar, also of the Barangay Ginebra, received 23,348 votes and led by a mile over second-placer Calvin Abueva of the Alaska Aces (18,655) for the top spot in the Luzon team.

Veteran Ginebra guard LA Tenorio, however, ranked third with 14,381, followed by Paul Lee (14,095). Marc Pingris of Magnolia garnered 14,019 votes to complete the starters for the Luzon Team.

Also making it to the starting line-up for Mindanao Team are Magnolia teammates Jio Jalalon (26,850) and Peter June Simon (26,754), along with Blackwater sophomore big man Mac Belo (21,732).

Completing the Visayas selection are NLEX Road Warriors guard Kiefer Ravena ranks third (27,642) followed by Ginebra big man Greg Slaughter (21,016), and Globalport Batang Pier’s Terrence Romeo (20,720). Ravena is the only rookie voted to the starting line-up of all three All-Star selections supported by PEAK.

READ  No regrets nor excuses for CJ Perez

Comprising the Top 10 of the Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao selections are:

Luzon – Jayson Castro (12,871), Mark Caguioa (11,601), Marcio Lassiter (11,265), Alex Cabagnot (10,675), and Arwind Santos (9,666).

Visayas – Joe Devance (18,009), Roger Pogoy (13,908), Jeff Chan (13,472), Chris Ross (12,468), and Aldrech Ramos (9,123).

Mindanao – Cyrus Baguio (15,583), JP Erram (15,161), Rafi Reavis (14,831), Baser Amer (14,340), and Sonny Thoss (11,577).