Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Rookies shine as Daos, Ateneo dominate UAAP Women’s Swimming Day 2

LOS BAÑOS, LAGUNA — Reigning UAAP MVP Chloe Daos continued to collect golds in her third campaign with Ateneo, adding the 400m Freestyle (4:42.37) and 100m Butterfly (1:03.35) titles under her belt, Friday at the Trace Aquatics Center.

Thus far, she has won all her four events and collected sixty points to lead the MVP race in the UAAP Season 82 Swimming Championships.

Palarong Pambansa star and national age-grouper Erin Castrillo of UP nearly staged an upset in 100m Butterfly by clocking 1:03.59. The super-rookie, who is spearheading her team with thirty-six points, led for most of the race before succumbing to the more experienced Daos. Suzanne Himor of Ateneo was a far third at 1:07.44.

Meanwhile, UP’s veteran tanker Nadine Tee Ten took the silver medal in the 400m Freestyle after registering a time of 4:48.99. She clocked in ahead of DLSU’s bronze medalist Nichole Evangelista, who finished at 4:49.63.

Evangelista, who is currently tied for second in the MVP race with forty points, also took the silver medal in the 50m Breaststroke after touching at 36.35 seconds. Ateneo’s rookie Rona Lalimo emerged victorious in that event with a time of 35.08 seconds. Rounding out the podium in 36.47 seconds is UP’s Alyssa Pogiongko.

Another super-rookie in Nikki Pamintuan, a SEA Games medalist and many-time UAAP Juniors’ MVP, brought home the gold medal for DLSU in 200m Backstroke by touching at 2:28.53. This was Pamintuan’s second gold medal after winning the 200m Individual Medley on Day 1 to lead the Rookie-of-the-Year race with forty points.

#ReadMore  Ateneo Lady Eagles morale down as Almadro braces for tough task ahead

Chesca Joves of UP, another rookie, surprised the crowd with her silver medal time of 2:30.48 to upstage Courtney Gray of Ateneo, who only managed a time of 2:34.19.

The day’s action concluded with a heated battle between Ateneo and UP in the 400m Freestyle Relay, where the two teams were neck-and-neck. Veteran sprinter Andrea Ngui then took over for Ateneo in the final leg en route to a new UAAP record time of 4:11.31. Ngui relied on Himor and rookies Portia Doragos and Marjorie Manguiat to keep the race close, as the squad of UP was threatening to pull away. In the end, UP finished in 4:12.42, while DLSU was third in 4:26.98.

The team standings at the halfway mark have Ateneo stretching its lead with 213 points, ahead of UP’s 156, DLSU’s 120 and UST’s 51.

UAAP Swimming action continues at the Trace Aquatic Sports Complex on October 19, 2019. 200m Freestyle, 100m Breaststroke, 50m Butterfly, 100m Backstroke, 400m Individual Medley and 200m Freestyle Relay are lined up for Day 3.

Written By

Aldo is an ultimate sports enthusiast who watches and plays a multitude of sports like basketball, volleyball, swimming and water polo. His heart bleeds blue as he graduated in Jesuit institutions and is currently employed in one. Purefoods (or whatever name they call it now) in the PBA and the LA Lakers in the NBA are his favorite basketball teams.

You May Also Like


Despite playing just one year for De La Salle University, Chloe Isleta considers the school as her home. In her only UAAP Swimming season,...


This UAAP Season 85 for Thanya Dela Cruz was all about overcoming her fears. And the 5-foot-6 prodigy rose above them. Dela Cruz broke...


De La Salle University ended a 19-year drought or since taking back-to-back titles in seasons 66 and 65 — ending the UAAP Season 85...


Ateneo de Manila University pulled through still in a tight battle against De La La Salle University and University of the Philippines with 300...


On a day of fallen records, De La Salle University and Ateneo de Manila University kept their hold of the top spot of the...


Xiandi Chua proved that the hype was worth it during her most-awaited debut as she carried De La Salle University into the early lead...


Thanya Dela Cruz sets the tone once again, breaking the women’s 50-meter breaststroke national record to 32.42 seconds on the first day of the...

2021 SEA Games

Coming off a successful Swimming National Selection meet last October 22-24, 2021 in Capas, Tarlac, the Philippine Swimming Inc. will be coming back home...