Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Rhayyan Amsali is top HS player; Quiambao, Tamayo go 2-3 in NBTC 24

New faces are all around in the final rankings of the most promising high school prospects in the Philippines with 15 players bringing a breath of fresh air to the 2020 National Basketball Training Centre All-Star Game.

Leading the way in the final NBTC 24 is San Beda-Taytay’s all-around forward Rhayyan Amsali whose consistency keyed the Red Cubs’ climb to the mountaintop for the first time in four years.

The 6-foot-3 lefty was the consensus top player in the NCAA NBTC 24 in his one-and-done season and now reclaims his place as an All-Star after his transfer to and residency in San Beda.

The twin towers of Nazareth School of National University, Carl Tamayo and Kevin Quiambao, then went back-to-back at nos. 2 and 3 after strong seasons that saw the former retain Finals MVP and the latter rank first in the UAAP NBTC 24.

Just like last year, the top 24 players from the NCAA and the UAAP were first named before the best of the best from both lists, alongside those from Cebu and other leagues, were ranked in the Final NBTC 24.

UAAP Season 82 MVP Jake Figueroa of Adamson and NCAA MVP John Barba of Lyceum, meanwhile, will be debuting in the showcase of the top young talent in the country after landing at the fifth and seventh spots, respectively.

They will be joined by other first-timers in Ateneo’s Josh Lazaro (8) and Lebron Lopez (12), FEU-Diliman’s Penny Estacio (10) and Cholo Anonuevo (13), San Beda’s Justine Sanchez (14) and Yukien Andrada (17), LSGH’s RC Calimag (19), Letran’s Joshua Ramirez (20), Hope’s Joshua Cajucom (21), Xavier’s Miguel Tan (22), UC’s Isaiah Blanco (23), and SHS-Ateneo’s Mike Boniel (24).

#ReadMore  Baltazar, Lopez shine vs INA as Gilas one away from ACQ sweep

Completing the ultimate list are All-Star returnees Mac Guadana of the Jr. Pirates at no. 4, Bismarck Lina of UST at no. 6, Terrence Fortea and Gerry Abadiano of the Bullpups at nos. 9 and 16, Jonnel Policarpio of Mapua at no. 11, Forthsky Padrigao of the Blue Eaglets at no. 15, and Tony Ynot of the Red Cubs at no. 18.

Here is the Final NBTC 24 for 2020:
1. Rhayyan Amsali, forward, SBU-Rizal
2. Carl Tamayo, center/forward, NSNU
3. Kevin Quiambao, center/forward, NSNU
4. Mac Guadana, guard, LPU-C
5. Jake Figueroa, forward, AdU
6. Bismarck Lina, center/forward, UST
7. John Barba, forward, LPU-C
8. Josh Lazaro, forward, AHS
9. Terrence Fortea, guard, NSNU
10. Penny Estacio, guard, FEU-D
11. Jonnel Policarpio, forward, MHS
12. Lebron Lopez, forward, AHS
13. Cholo Anonuevo, forward, FEU-D
14. Justine Sanchez, forward, SBU-Rizal
15. Forthsky Padrigao, guard, AHS
16. Gerry Abadiano, guard, NSNU
17. Yukien Andrada, forward, SBU-Rizal
18. Tony Ynot, guard/forward, SBU-Rizal
19. RC Calimag, guard/forward, LSGH
20. Joshua Ramirez, guard/forward, CSJL
21. Joshua Cajucom, guard, HCHS
22. Miguel Tan, forward, XS
23. Isaiah Blanco, forward, UC
24. Mike Boniel, guard, SHS-Ateneo

Due to COVID-19, the Chooks-to-Go SM-NBTC League National Finals as well as the annual All-Star Game were postponed and tentatively rescheduled.

Originally slated to take place from March 21 to 27 at SM Mall of Asia Arena, the week-long showcase of the top young talent in the country also backed by SMART, Vivo, Darlington, Phoenix Fuels, Epson, Gatorade, Go for Gold, and Molten has been penciled in for April 20 to 26 still at the same venue.

#ReadMore  Joshua Espenida, UE outlast Adamson to go to 3-0 in UAAP Boys' Volleyball

Media partners for the annual event are Cignal and One Sports.

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Thirdy Ravena will make his Gilas Pilipinas return in the King Abdullah Cup in Amman, Jordan. Ravena made it to the final 15 of...


Gilas Pilipinas will head to Jordan this weekend. The national team has joined the 10th King Abdullah Cup, a competition which will be held...

2021 FIBA Asia Cup

Nineteen players have entered the Inspire Sports Academy in Calamba, Laguna in preparation for the 2021 FIBA Asia Cup, Saturday afternoon. Thirdy Ravena rejoined...


Filipino basketball players are starting to become global commodities — and even NBA prospects. It started when 7-foot-3 big man Kai Sotto signed with...


Lebron Lopez has chosen a different route for his basketball journey. Tuesday evening, Overtime Elite announced that they have signed the 18-year-old to a...


Overtime Elite has announced that Lebron Lopez has signed with the league. This means that the 18-year-old has turned pro. “We’re delighted to have...


As the 2021 FIBA Under-19 World Cup heads to its last few games on Sunday evening in Latvia, a cycle also closed for Gilas...

2020 Tokyo Olympics

It’s not just Dwight Ramos who is ailing as Gilas Pilipinas braces for a tough two-day clash with Serbia and the Dominican Republic in...