Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Quendy Fernandez Rookie MVP as UP regains UAAP women’s swim crown after seven years

University of the Philippines kept up its onslaught of stellar performances during the final day of the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Swimming Championships on Sunday afternoon at the Teofilo Yldefonso Swimming Pool in Malate, Manila to reclaim the championship they last held in 2016.

Gathering a total of 11 golds, eight silvers, and eight bronze medals for 433 points, the Fighting Maroons’ campaign that gave UP its 21st championship in the sport also featured two new UAAP records.

Quendy Fernandez cemented her status as the tournament’s best swimmer by bringing home both the Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player awards.

She dominated the Women’s 50m Backstroke final with a time of 29.87 seconds, just two-hundredths of a second shy of the UAAP record she established during the preliminaries. Teammate Regina Castrillo clinched the silver medal at 30.77 seconds while UST’s Jan Sarmiento took home the bronze in 31.26 seconds.

“Hindi ko inexpect na ganito yung outcome pero I’m blessed and I’m thankful pa rin po. Super happy po ako kasi dream ko po talaga mag UAAP and ma-represent po yung UP,” said Fernandez, an 18-year-old swimming prodigy out of Puerto Princesa.

Bela Magtibay further extended the Lady Maroons’ lead in the Women’s 200m Breaststroke, where she clocked in at 2:43.88. UST’s rookie Shairinne Floriano managed a podium finish, taking the silver at 2:45.16 as Ateneo’s Annika Isip rounded out the podium at 2:45.90.

UP’s Camille Buico and Ateneo’s Mishka Sy went head-to-head in the Women’s 200m Butterfly with the more experienced Buico gaining the upper hand during the final lap en route to the gold with a time of 2:22.11. Sy (2:23.42) placed second while Floriano (2:24.10) of UST secured the bronze, despite coming straight from the Women’s 200m Breaststroke event.

#ReadMore  PPS-PEPP: Josshua Kinaadman repels Jed Olivarez, secures Dagitab Open

Alyza Ng of UST managed an upset win against the UP finalists in the Women’s 50m Freestyle, registering a time of 27.18 seconds to claim the gold. UP’s Buico and Atasha Dela Torre occupied the second and third spots, timing 27.28 seconds and 27.81 seconds, respectively.

The podium finishes of Floriano and Ng, powered UST past DLSU to finish second runner-up in the overall standings with 192 points. DLSU stood fourth with 167, sorely missing the heroics of key cogs Xiandi Chua and Chloe Isleta from last year’s campaign.

Meanwhile, Ateneo had their own comeback this season. Rising from their third-place finish from UAAP Season 85 to place second behind UP with 351 points.

Ending on a high note, the team of Samantha Coronel, Marjorie Manguiat, Isip, and Maiki Gonzaga came out on top in the 4x100m medley relay. Leaps and bounds ahead of DLSU and UP when they clocked in at 4:34.89.

Written By

Kristine graduated from ADMU and was a former member of the FAST Ateneo Swimming team. She considers playing for Ateneo the highlight of her college years. Aside from following all things swimming, she is an avid football fan and hopes to one day watch an international football game like the LaLiga, Premier League, or the FIFA World Cup.

You May Also Like


UAAP’s reigning best setter and Finals MVP Joshua Retamar waxed hot for the NU Bulldogs not only in setting up plays but also in...


University of Santo Tomas’ sophomore playmaker Cassie Carballo embodied grace under pressure in orchestrating a five-set comeback win over Far Eastern University to still...


ADAMSON University ended its dry spell in the UAAP Season 86 Baseball tournament, dealing University of Santo Tomas its first loss, 14-8, on Sunday...


Ateneo de Manila University captured its sixth win to rise to solo second in the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Tennis tournament with a rousing...


Unsung heroes rose to the occasion for University of Santo Tomas to overhaul a two-set deficit to win via a reverse sweep against Far...


University of Santo Tomas preserved its immaculate record in the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Volleyball Tournament with a reverse sweep of Far Eastern University,...


Ramil Bation III and Orlan Togores linked up late to propel University of the Philippines past De La Salle University, 3-1, in the UAAP...


On the day that head coach Jerry Yee was suspended for the rest of the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Volleyball Tournament, University of the...