Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
Ateneo great Matt Laurel will make his return to the diamond with the KBA Stars


Philippine Baseball League Open Conference to feature 12 teams

The Philippine Baseball League’s second conference opens on Saturday, with 12 teams composed of seven school-based squads and five clubs split into two groups.

Composing Pool A of this tournament backed by the Philippine Sports Commission are first conference champions Adamson Soaring Falcons; UAAP runners-up Ateneo Blue Eagles; the Katayama Baseball Academy (KBA) Stars; the Itakura Parts Philippines Corporation (IPPC) Nationals; the NU Bulldogs; and the RTU Thunder.

On the other hand, Pool B of this league organized by the Philippine Amateur Baseball Association will feature UAAP champions De La Salle Green Batters; the Air Force Lawin; the Thunder Bolts; the UP Fighting Maroons; the UST Golden Sox; and the RTU Thunder-Alums.

The top two teams after the end of the elimination round will then advance to the crossover semifinals.

“The Filipino baseball player needs more games,” said PABA secretary-general Pepe Muñoz. “What we are trying to target this year is for them to have at least forty to fifty games including the UAAP and our first conference before the SEA Games.”

Besides more exposure for the players, this tournament will also serve as the final tryout for the Men’s National Baseball Team for the 2019 Southeast Asian Games.

“The top performers and the standouts from the Open Conference will certainly have spots in our national team,” disclosed PABA Vice President Boy Tingzon. “We have held tryouts over the past few months but what we want to see right now is how the players react to big game situations.”

To open the tournament, Adamson first face NU at 7:30 am. Air Force then takes on Thunder at 9:30 am, followed by KBA versus RTU.

#ReadMore  Paralympians looks to continue PH momentum in Tokyo

KBA will have a short break before figuring in an exhibition contest against Korean club team Jeju at 2:00 pm.

Then on Sunday, Ateneo faces IPPC at 8:00 am, followed by games between DLSU and RTU-Alum and Air Force versus UST.

All games will be held at the Rizal Memorial Baseball Stadium.

Written By

You May Also Like


NATIONAL University returns to the Big Dance after 11 years, defeating Ateneo with a 9-5 decision in the UAAP Season 86 Baseball Final Four...


Top-seeded De La Salle University advanced to the UAAP Baseball Finals for the fourth straight season, extending its chance at a three-peat with a...


UNIVERSITY of Santo Tomas clinched the last UAAP Season 86 Final Four ticket on Saturday, weathering a late storm from University of the Philippines...


UP Diliman Field will be the battleground for two schools vying for a chance at the postseason on Saturday. University of the Philippines and...


Saying Kobe Torres’ 2023 was busy would be an understatement, as it was the year he represented both University of the Philippines and his...


KOBE Torres and University of the Philippines survived against Ateneo de Manila University, escaping with a thrilling 15-12 victory to stay alive in the...


JM Segui drove in the game’s biggest hit, propelling De La Salle University to a twice-to-beat advantage in the UAAP Season 86 Baseball Tournament...


NATIONAL University secured a twice-to-beat advantage in the UAAP Season 86 Baseball Final Four with a 12-6 victory over Adamson University on Thursday at...