Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
(C) PBA Images


PBA D-League: UST vents ire on AMA with 71-point whipping

Builders Warehouse-UST scored a historic win as it notched its first triumph in the 2022 PBA D-League Aspirants Cup on Wednesday.

The Growling Tigers routed AMA Online via a 71-point whipping, 150-79, at the SMART Araneta Coliseum.

The 71-point win for Builders Warehouse-UST is the second-highest winning margin in the PBA D-League, behind only to Tanduay’s 141-65 beatdown of Zark’s Burgers back on July 10, 2017.

“Napakasarap,” sighed interim Growling Tigers head coach Albert Alocillo. “Credit ito lahat sa mga bata because they worked so hard at unti-unti, nakakapag-adjust na sila.”

Sherwin Concepcion tallied 14 points, 14 rebounds, and 10 assists to record the 10th triple-double in league history.

Nic Cabanero also got 19 points, five boards, two assists, two steals, and two blocks while Kean Baclaan tallied a double-double with 11 points and 11 assists.

Christian Manaytay scored 13 points while Willie Wilson produced 18 points on 8-of-12 shooting with seven assists.

Angelo Crisostomo chipped in 15 points while Ian Herrera and Royce Mantua added 10 points apiece as well.

The Growling Tigers went on a 34-11 run to start the game and never looked back.

The lead went to as high as 77 points, 148-71, behind the 12 treys of UST, who raised their slate to 1-4.

AMA bowed out of the playoff race at 0-6, with Arthur Pineda and Reed Baclig pacing the Kings with 13 points apiece.

The Scores:

Builders Warehouse-UST 150 –– Cabanero 19, Wilson 18, Crisostomo 15, Concepcion 14, Manaytay 13, Baclaan 11, Herrera 10, Mantua 10, Pangilinan 9, Gesalem 9, Santos 7, Escobido 6, Stevens 4, Manalang 3, Canoy 2.

#ReadMore  Mike Harris remains undaunted even if Alaska down 0-2

AMA 79 — Pineda 13, Baclig 13, D. Cruz 11, Malones 7, Villamor 6, Kapunan 5, De Vera 5, Gile 5, Camay 3, Yambao 3, Palana 3, K. Cruz 2, Ceniza 2, R. Cruz 1, Fuentes 0.

Quarterscores: 36-20, 72-34, 117-60, 150-79.

Written By

You May Also Like


Jericho Cruz insisted that there’s nothing personal whatsoever as he will have to go through his former team in a bid to win another...


CJ Perez is feeling all sorts of emotions now that he’s about to realize his dream of playing in the PBA Finals, with San...

2023 FIBA World Cup

Gilas head coach Chot Reyes made headlines during the first week of August with his statement for the coming 2023 FIBA World Cup Asian...


Meralco’s elimination from the 2022 PBA Philippine Cup semifinals on Wednesday also meant the last day of Nenad Vucinic for the Bolts and the...

2023 FIBA World Cup

Chot Reyes will miss two games of the PBA Philippine Cup Finals to fulfill his Gilas Pilipinas duties in the upcoming FIBA World Cup...


It wasn’t the desired outcome but Meralco head coach Norman Black remains proud of his team’s progress after a semifinal finish in the PBA...


It’s team first over everything else. Juan Gomez de Liano and Michael Phillips are more focused on leading their respective squads in the 2022...


The challenge is now on for the fresh faces. San Miguel head coach Leo Austria sees the upcoming 2022 PBA Philippine Cup Finals as...