Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


NBTC: UAAP champ Adamson leads Fearless 4 cast

UAAP champions Adamson High School moved closer to another title, this time in the 2024 Smart-NBTC National Finals presented by SM Supermalls, after asserting their dominance over Yengskivel Sportswear, 88-77, on Thursday at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

Continuing their trend from the recently concluded UAAP Season 86 boys’ basketball tournament, the Baby Falcons showcased a total team effort to overpower their opponents.

They had five players scoring in double digits, with reserve Gab De Jesus leading with 17 points, while Earl Medina contributed 15 points, all from beyond the arc.

Adamson will employ the same winning strategy when they go up against NCAA Season 99 third-placer Mapua High School, which defeated University of Santo Tomas, 71-63.

Sean Salvador led the scoring for the Red Robins with 16 points, supported by Lance Gragasin who added 13 points, three rebounds, and three steals.

They now focus on facing the Fearless 4, also supported by adidas, Molten, Swish, and Farm Fresh Dairy, on Friday, still at the same venue.

On the other side of the semifinals bracket is a matchup between the dominant Fil-Am Nation Select-USA and the impressive Batang Tiaong.

The Fil-Americans strengthened their bid to reach the final by routing One Media TV48 Naga by 32 points, 95-63.

Terrence Hill led with 22 points, while Andy Gemao contributed 14 points, six rebounds, five assists, and five steals.

Meanwhile, the South Luzon champions from Quezon Province secured another win with a come-from-behind 80-66 victory against San Sebastian College-Recoletos.

Nico Mulingtapang led with 26 points and eight boards, supported by Mowell Morales’ double-double of 22 points and 16 rebounds.

#ReadMore  NCAA 99: Mapua, Perpetual pull off impressive wins to remain at helm

One more win, and two of these four teams will advance to the final on Sunday, preceded by the NBTC spotlighting the best young Filipino talent on All-Star Saturday.

Gemao, Hill, Matthew Jucom (UNBL-Don Bosco), and Russel Liwanag (PPG Tarlac) will join Jared Bahay’s Team Heart, while Jacob Bayla (Fil-Am Nation), EJ Sapasap (PPG Tarlac), JB Lim (UST), and John Rodulfa (FMLP/KMTE Customs Brokerage-Davao) will reinforce Kieffer Alas’ Team Hustle.

The NBTC All-Star Game commences at 7 p.m., following the Manila Live Girls All-Star Game, the Three-Point Shootout, the Shooting Stars competition, the Skills Challenge, and the Manila Showcase.

Written By

You May Also Like


Playing shorthanded in the 2024 Pinoyliga Cup, University of the Philippines has decided to call on reinforcement. Andy Gemao suited up for the Fighting...


National University has found a ready-made replacement for Kean Baclaan, while also adding to its stockpile of athletic and versatile wings. The Bulldogs have...


Defending titlist La Salle-Ecooil surged in the second half to fend off Centro Escolar, 89-61, and maintain an unbeaten record in the 2024 PBA...


Terrence Hill announced his decision to decommit from Division I school Utah State. The 19-year-old forward made the announcement on Saturday evening (Manila time)....


As his arduous journey from elementary to high school draws to a close, Vince Reyes of Adamson University reflects with joy on capping it...


Adamson University’s Justine “Tebol” Garcia will be exiting his high school career with a résumé unlike any other. Only a month after bagging the...


Camilla Escoto has witnessed the growth of women’s basketball in the country from her time as a UAAP champion with the NU Lady Bulldogs...


Fil-Am Nation Select’s head coach Chris Gavina revealed that their team captain Terrence Hill is set to embark on a new journey with the...