Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Mighty Sports partners with Go for Gold for Jones Cup campaign

Given the opportunity to represent the country again, Mighty Sports Philippines made sure to find the right partner.

Mighty Sports will have Go for Gold on its side in the 2019 William Jones Cup, which is set to take place from July 12 to 21 in Taiwan.

With this partnership, the squad will be known as Mighty Sports-Go for Gold for the pocket tournament.

“It is always a great honor for any organization to represent the Philippines,” said Mighty Sports team owner Alex Wongchuking. “We will always do our best to form the most competitive team possible to bring pride and honor to our country and provide basketball entertainment to our overseas countrymen.”

Go for Gold has been a staunch supporter of Philippine sports, backing programs like cycling, skateboarding, triathlon, wrestling, and muay thai and, as well as, financing club teams in the sport of basketball and volleyball.

Helping the Filipino athlete compete in the international stage is the same mission shared by Mighty Sports and Go for Gold.

“We share Go for Gold’s vision in developing the level of basketball in the country. We would like to form a team that the youth will emulate, the value of sportsmanship, fair play, and excellence in the sport,” said Wongchuking.

“I believe we have shared values in promoting and developing Pilipino athletes and bringing pride to our nation,” added Go for Gold godfather Jeremy Go.

Steering the squad in the Jones Cup is Charles Tiu, the coach who steered the Go for Gold Scratchers to the 2018 PBA D-League Foundation Cup crown.

#ReadMore  UAAP 84: NU bucks slow start vs FEU, moves to a win from elims sweep

The last time Mighty Sports competed in the annual tournament was back in 2016 as the squad completed an eight-game sweep to give the Philippines its fifth Jones Cup trophy.

Written By

You May Also Like


With the 2020 Chooks-to-Go MPBL Lakan Playoffs suspended indefinitely due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, the league’s day-to-day employees took a massive blow. The...


For the first time in the history of the Dubai Basketball International Championship, a team outside of the Middle East has won the tournament....


After two tough wins and a two-day break, Mighty Sports coach Charles Tiu is looking for a better performance from his boys when they...


Former Xavier School stars are looking forward to a happy reunion as Mighty Sports tries its luck again in the Dubai International Basketball Championship...


Andray Blatche arrived a bit over his ideal weight last week, but Mighty Sports owner Alex Wongchuking and coach Charles Tiu remain confident the...


Dropping all five matches in the 2019 Women’s Jones Cup in New Taipei City will not stall the Gilas Pilipinas Women’s squad as it...


Gilas Pilipinas Women bowed out of their first-ever William Jones Cup stint winless, falling against host Chinese-Taipei White, 83-92, Sunday afternoon at the Xinzhuang...


Playing their fourth game in four days, Afril Bernardino and Gilas Pilipinas Women could not score an upset, falling at the hands of the...