Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Marano, De Guzman captain Rebisco PH as Tolenada skippers Choco Mucho in AVC Club

Three teams – two women’s and one men’s – will represent the country in the Asian Club Volleyball Championship in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand. 

The women’s squads Rebisco and Choco Mucho and the men’s team Rebisco were presented to the Philippine National Volleyball Federation’s (PNVF) board during its sixth virtual board meeting on Tuesday afternoon.

PNVF President Ramon “Tats” Suzara announced the composition of the teams after consultation with Brazilian consultant-coach Jorge Edson Souza de Brito and national team coaches Odjie Mamon (women) and Dante Alinsunurin (men); and recommended by National Team Commission chairman Tonyboy Liao.

The PNVF board unanimously approved the teams’ composition was unanimously approved.

The Asian Club Championships for men and women, according to Suzara, are the first foreign sortie for the members of the national volleyball teams.

“With these club championships, we are putting in harness the national team program aimed at three major international competitions in 2022,” Suzara said. “These are the Asian Games in Huangzhou, Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam, and the Asian Senior Women’s Championship that we are hosting in May next year.”

Suzara, Liao, PNVF Secretary-General Don Caringal, and Deputy Secretary-General for International Affairs Ricky Palou have been monitoring the teams’ semi-bubble training at the Aquamarine Gym in Lipa City.

The women’s teams are leaving for Nakhon Ratchasima, host of the 2007 SEA Games, on September 27 in time for the tournament set from October 1 to 7. The men’s squads, on the other hand, are flying to Thailand on October 4 for their own tournament scheduled from October 8 to 15.

#ReadMore  Joshua Pacio glad to have fellow Lakay Kevin Belingon as neighbor

All three squads are supported by the Philippine Sports Commission and Rebisco.

Alinsunurin will be the head coach of the Rebisco men’s team made up of the core of the national squad that clinched an unprecedented silver medal behind Thailand in the Philippines 2019 SEA Games.

Souza de Brito will coach Team Rebisco, which will have veteran Aby Maraño. Meanwhile, Odjie Mamon will handle Team Choco Mucho with Iris Tolenada as skipper.

2021-AVC-Mens-Club-Championship-Rebisco-1 Marano, De Guzman captain Rebisco PH as Tolenada skippers Choco Mucho in AVC Club News Volleyball  - philippine sports news

Seated (from left): Ish Polvorosa, Manuel Sumanguid, John Vic de Guzman, Ricky Marcos, Jack Kalingking, Josh Retamar and Kim Dayadante. Standing (first row from left): Nico Almendras, Marck Espejo, JP Bugaoan, Mark Alfafara, strength and conditioning coach Enrico Rafael Francisco, PNVF Secretary General Don Caringal, assistant coach Sherwin Meneses, PNVF President President Ramon “Tats” Suzara, assistant coach Dong dela Cruz, Deputy Secretary General for International Affairs Ricky Palou, Team manager Mike Verano, National Team Commission chairman Tonyboy Liao, head coach Dante Alinsunurin, Kim Malabunga, Francis Saura, Lloyd Josafat and Rex Intal.

Team Rebisco is composed of team captain John Vic de Guzman, Jessie Lopez, Ysay Marasigan, Rex Intal, Mark Alfafara, Nico Almendras, Kim Malabunga, Ish Polvorosa, Francis Saura, Manuel Sumanguid, Josh Retamar, Jao Umandal, Ricky Marcos, and JP Bugaoan.

2021-AVC-Womens-Club-Championship-Rebisco-vs-Choco-Mucho-1 Marano, De Guzman captain Rebisco PH as Tolenada skippers Choco Mucho in AVC Club News Volleyball  - philippine sports news

Seated (from left): Tin Tiamzon, Mhicaela Belen, Jema Galanza, Dawn Macandili, Aby Maraño, Jennifer Nierva, Bernadette Pepito, Iris Tolenada and Kamille Cal.
Standing (first row from left): Team manager Fe Moran, assistant coach Grace Antigua, trainer George Pascua, PNVF Secretary General Don Caringal, consultant-coach Jorge Edson Souza de Brito PNVF President Ramon “Tats” Suzara, Deputy Secretary General for International Affairs Ricky Palou, head coach Odjie Mamon, National Team Commission chairman Tonyboy Liao, strength and conditioning coach Paolo Rivero, physical therapist Grace Gomez and trainer Raffy Mosuela .
Standing (second row from left): Imee Hernandez, Faith Nisperos,Ria Meneses, Ivy Lacsina, Dell Palomata, Dindin Santiago-Manabat,MJ Phillips, Kat Tolentino, Kianna Dy and Rhea Dimaculangan.
Not in photo: Eya Laure, Kalei Mau, Tin Tiamzon, Mylene Paat, Majoy Baron and Deanna Wong.

With Maraño in Team Rebisco are Eya Laure, Jema Galanza, Faith Nisperos, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Mhicaela Belen, Imee Hernandez, Ivy Lacsina, Rhea Dimaculangan, Kamille Cal, Jennifer Nierva, and Bernadette Pepito.

#ReadMore  Jaja Santiago headlines 16 national team hopefuls in PNVF tryouts

Joining Tolenada in Team Choco Mucho are Kalei Mau, MJ Phillips, Tin Tiamzon, Kat Tolentino, Mylene Paat, Kianna Dy, Ria Meneses, Majoy Baron, Dell Palomata, Deanna Wong, and Dawn Macandili.

2021-AVC-Womens-Club-Rebisco-vs-Choco-Mucho-Galanza-vs-Wong Marano, De Guzman captain Rebisco PH as Tolenada skippers Choco Mucho in AVC Club News Volleyball  - philippine sports news

Written By

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


Two Philippine-based club teams left the country on Tuesday evening, heading to Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand for the 2021 Asian Women’s Club Volleyball Championship. The...

2021 AVC Women's Championship

The calendars for the end-quarter of 2021 and 2022 were forged in a fruitful meeting/workshop among concerned Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) officials and...


The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) in a virtual meeting on Tuesday night set the men and women Champion’s League (CL) in November, capping...


Fielding three teams in the AVC Asian Club Volleyball Championship next month in Thailand is just part of a long, tedious process aimed at...


The Philippine basketball landscape has changed, with players leaving home to pursue better opportunities abroad.  The country already has eight players in the Japan...


The Philippine Men’s National Volleyball Team remains rock solid despite the absence of two main gunners in Bryan Bagunas and Marck Espejo for the...


Philippine Women’s National Volleyball Team head coach Odjie Mamon admitted the most important thing his squad still needs to work on in the coming...


The non-inclusion of Philippine indoor volleyball mainstays Alyssa Valdez and Jia Morado in the national team has continued to invoke disagreement until now.  Women’s...