Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Magvrylle Matchino cops third gold in relay

Magvrylle Matchino anchored Laguna’s girls’ 4x400m relay team to victory to claim her third gold medal, Saturday at the close of the Luzon Leg of the 2019 Philippine National Youth Games-Batang Pinoy at the City of Ilagan Sports Complex in Isabela.

Matchino, 14, and her team of Janine Dauba, Evita Ruth Belloso and Kyla Elona clocked four minutes and 17 seconds to beat a field that included Pangasinan’s Jasmin Padaoang, Jessica Villar, Shinna Benavente and Ana Marie Eugenio and Ilagan’s Margie Panaligan, Jaimaica Tadeo, Carla Mae Sadia and Rebecca Vinuya, who timed in 4:18.2 and 4:21.8 for the silver and bronze, respectively.

It was the third mint for Matchino after she also topped the 2000m steeplechase and led the 4x100m relay squad to gold to join Calamba’s Erica Marie Ruto and Pangasinan’s Rufo Aidan Raguine in centerpiece athletics’ elite group of triple-gold medalists.

Matchino was denied a fourth gold in the 800m by Camarines Sur’s Lheslie de Lima, who topped the event with a clocking of 2:19.2 as against the latter’s 2:21.7.

It was De Lima’s second mint being the 1500m winner.

In chess, Mark Jay Bacojo took the boys’ 15-under gold in blitz to cap Dasmarinas’ seven-gold haul.

Sta. Rosa’s Kaye Lalaine Regidor (girls’ 12-under), Mandaluyong’s Ma. Elayza Villa (girls’ 15-under) and Pililan, Bulacan (boys’ 12-under) grabbed the other blitz gold.

In boxing, Baguio harvested four golds courtesy of Kates Gacad (junior girls’ lightflyweight), Sarah Garwageo (junior girls’ fly), Liezel Chavez (junior girls’ bantam) and Jamie Talewan, Jr. (junior boys’ bantam).

Also striking golds were Mandaluyong’s Jolas Doringo (school boys’ light mosquito), Lucena’s Clark Vicera (school boys’ mosquito) and John Wayne Vicera (junior boys fly), Tarlac Province’s Benedick Quitalig (school boys’ light paper), Benguet’s Marivic Gaki Lingbanan (junior girls’ pin) and Adrian Dazon (junior boys light), Camarines Sur’s Jane Antonette Aye (junior girls’ light bantam), Dagupan’s Gearwin Flores (junior boys’ pin) and John Louie Daluzon (junior boys feather), Muntinlupa’s Mark Jacen Almacen (junior boys light fly), Palawan’s Melbert Navarro (junior boys’ light bantam).

#ReadMore  Paul Zamar looks to make up for lost time with dad Boycie in San Miguel

In futsal, Naga City snared three of the four golds staked in the sport thanks to victories in the boys’ 13-under and 15-under and girls’ 15-under.

Pasig City took the only other gold not won by Naga in the boys’ 15-under class.

In table tennis, Manila’s Kheith Rhynne Cruz took the girls’ 15-under singles and then partnered with Red Morison Torres in the mixed doubles to make it a two-gold haul.

Other winners were Vigan’s Wrency Abad (cadet boys singles 15-under), Makati City’s Ray Joshua Lawrence Manlapaz (mini-cadet boys singles 13-under) and Pangasinan’s J-An Sanchez (mini-cadet girls’ singles 13-under).

In volleyball, Sta. Rosa slammed Tanauan, 25-22, 25-11, to claim the boys’ gold while Angeles, Pampanga turned back Pangasinan, 25-17, 25-15, to settle for a bronze.

In baseball, Tanuan City ruled the event that it cherished most to go home with the gold.

In badminton, Laguna’s Andrea Hernandez smashed her way to a pair of golds by reigning supreme in the girls’ 13-under singles and doubles alongside Rosheila Quirez.

Also prevailing were Malolos’ Karl Raphael Contreras (boys’ under-13 singles), Taguig’s Patricia de Leon (girls’ 13-15 singles), San Jose, Del Monte’s John Paul Barandino (boys’ 13-15 singles), Mandaluyong’s Ashton Rudolph Prieto and Raydric Johann Abinales (boys’ 13-15 doubles), and Taytay, Rizal’s Angel Valle and Kahrene Ivy Zapanta (girls’ 13-15 doubles).

Written By

You May Also Like


De La Salle University ensured that its title defense of the UAAP Women’s Table Tennis crown would proceed as planned, securing a 3-1 victory...


University of Santo Tomas reclaimed the UAAP women’s athletics title after ceding it to Far Eastern University in Season 81, Sunday at the Philsports...


Eduard Josh Buenavista and the rest of the defending men’s champion University of the Philippines pulled away from the competition on the third day...