Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Kenshiro Daniels breaks Bangladeshis’ hearts as Azkals finish top of Group B

Although they have already booked a ticket to the next round, the Philippine Men’s National Football Team continued their momentum in the 2018 Bangabandhu Cup with a 1-0 victory over tournament hosts Bangladesh at the Sylhet District Stadium in Sylhet.

Kenshiro Daniels scored the only goal of the game in the 23rd minute to stun the home side, who failed to procure an opener beforehand thanks to the heroics of veteran goalkeeper Mike Casas.

Daniels, who represented Kaya FC-Iloilo early in his career, combined with skipper Misagh Bahadoran and calmly shot past Bangladesh goalkeeper Ashraful Islam Rana to set the Filipinos on their way to topping Group B at the hosts’ expense.

Already a goal down on their home field, Bangladesh continuously tried to pound Casas’ goal, but the veteran stopper produced save after save to keep the clean sheet. Things got heated for both squads during the period and the referee opted to hand yellow cards to Bahadoran and Marwin Angeles. Daniels himself was substituted for Angelo Marasigan due to injury.

Nevertheless, it was the Azkals’ evening to savor as Daniels’ strike was enough to seal all three points. With the win, the Philippines’ next game will be the semi-finals clash against the Group A’s second placers on October 9, 4:30 PM (Philippine time) at the Cox’s Bazar Stadium in Bangladesh.

There is still one game left in Group A between Palestine and Nepal, who shall face each other on October 6, 8:30 PM (Philippine time). Unless Nepal upsets Palestine by a three-goal margin, it is familiar foe Tajikistan whom the Azkals will meet in the knockouts.

Philippines XI: Casas (GK), Bedic, Mw. Angeles, Bahadoran (C), Clarino, Aguinaldo, Minegishi, Daniels, Sarmiento, Mv. Angeles, Alquiros.

#ReadMore  Kintaro Miyagi, JB Borlongan braces catapult 'lazy’ UP above Adamson

Bangladesh XI: Rana (GK), Barman, Badsha, Mahmud, Mamun (C), Zidan, Sabuz, Ahamed, Tripura, Hasan, Mia.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

Tiebreaker Times Logo

You May Also Like


CARMONA, CAVITE — Everything may have been moot and academic, but Kaya-Iloilo fought with pride to defeat newly-crowned champions United City, 2-1, in the...


Kaya-Iloilo will perhaps look back on this game as the one that lost them the 2020 PFL sponsored by Qatar Airways championship. Kaya was...


CARMONA, CAVITE — Straight from their upset loss at the hands of Maharlika Manila, Stallion Laguna made amends, fighting back to earn a 1-1...


CARMONA, CAVITE — Kenshiro Daniels’ first goal of the campaign made the difference as Kaya-Iloilo clinched another 1-0 victory, this time against the Azkals...


CARMONA, CAVITE — Kaya-Iloilo produced a winning start in the 2020 PFL season, sponsored by Qatar Airways, racking up a 1-0 win over Maharlika...


University of the Philippines dug deep to get its first win in the UAAP Season 82 Men’s Football Tournament. The Fighting Maroons emerged victorious...


University of the Philippines made the most of its biggest scoring opportunity in the match, and it was enough to earn a winning start....


Without Jarvey Gayoso, Julian Roxas, and Jeremiah Rocha, defending champion Ateneo still found a way to escape defeat.  The Blue Eagles earned a 1-1...