Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Justin Baas delivers in penalties as Kaya lifts Copa Paulino Alcantara

The best teams always find a way through.

Justin Baas scored the winning penalty as Kaya-Iloilo won the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara by outlasting Davao Aguilas-UMAK 4-3 on penalties after the game finished 1-1 at extra time Saturday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Baas, Kaya’s 6-foot-1 defender, slotted home the winning spot-kick after being told to retake it after a violation by Davao goalie Din Ouattara.

Copa-Paulino-Alcantara-Kaya-FC-v-Davao-Aguilas-UMAK-Justin-Baas-2 Justin Baas delivers in penalties as Kaya lifts Copa Paulino Alcantara Football News PFL  - philippine sports newsHis penalty along with the ones converted by captain Jovin Bedic, Daizo Horikoshi, and Audie Menzi gave Kaya its third gold medal in the competition after it won the 2018 and 2021 editions.

Everything happened so quick,” said Baas. “I missed the penalty. I was disappointed in myself that I missed the penalty and then I heard I could retake it. It was a good opportunity and I knew that I knew I had to kill it and that’s what I did.

Kaya goalkeeper Quincy Kammeraad also played a key role as he denied Yannick Tuason and Serge Kaole in the shootout.

It was a huge relief for Kaya to seize the cup amidst its wastefulness in front of goal. The likes of Abou Sy, Horikoshi, Bedic, and Simone Rota all had chances in regulation and extra time to win the match.Copa-Paulino-Alcantara-Kaya-FC-v-Davao-Aguilas-UMAK-02 Justin Baas delivers in penalties as Kaya lifts Copa Paulino Alcantara Football News PFL  - philippine sports news

Bedic, who came on as a sub, had an attempt late in the second half of extra time but his header was denied by the post.

Davao drew first blood in first-half stoppage time as Tuason caught the Kaya defense sleeping to draw first blood with a header.

However, Arnel Amita scored a second-half equalizer after stealing the ball off Ouattara to set Kaya on its way to victory.

#ReadMore  Jarvey Gayoso gifts Michael Weiss winning Azkals return

Credit to the players, they kept going for 120 minutes,” said coach Colum Curtis. “We have our hands on the trophy. I don’t care how we get it as long as we’ve got it.

Kaya also dominated the individual awards. Sy won the tournament’s Golden Boot with 10 goals while Kammeraad earned the Golden Glove. Simone Rota was named the Best Defender while Horikoshi was the MVP.

Davao’s Paolo Bugas earned the Best Midfielder award.

It was a double celebration day for Kaya as its youth team defeated Palawan FA 7-0 to win the PFF Under-19 Second Division National Championship earlier in the day at the same venue.

Two-time UAAP champion Jarvey Gayoso did not play in the final due to suspension.

Kaya XI: Kammeraad (GK), Saito, Amita, Melliza, Baas, Sendra, Horikoshi, Arboleda, Rota, Menzi, Sy.

Davao XI: Ouattara, Villareal, Sapal, Tuason, Angeles, Talaroc, Ferrer, Kaole, Yohann, Bugas, Limbo.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Paolo Bugas started the next chapter of his football career right where he first made a name for himself — at Far Eastern University-Diliman....


Kaya-Iloilo closed its 2023-2024 AFC Champions League campaign with a 1-3 loss to South Korean side Incheon United Wednesday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium...


Quincy Kammeraad exorcised some demons by winning the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara final with Kaya-Iloilo last Saturday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium. Kammeraad, Kaya’s...


Cam Rodriguez believes that the recently concluded 2023 PFF Women’s League demonstrates tangible progress for women’s football in the Philippines. Rodriguez, a member of...


Hali Long has added another achievement to her illustrious career. Long, who has made 80 international appearances with the Philippine Women’s National Football Team,...


In a thrilling showdown last Saturday, Kaya-Iloilo secured its inaugural PFF Women’s League sponsored by Coca-Cola Philippines title with a narrow 1-0 victory over...


Kaya-Iloilo fought valiantly, but it just wasn’t meant to be. In a battle between two champion teams, Kaya lost 1-2 against the reigning J1...


Kaya-Iloilo suffered its third loss in the 2023-24 AFC Champions League, a 3-0 defeat at the hands of the Japanese side Yokohama F. Marinos...