Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Junior Tigersharks shatter 200M relay record as UST on pace for High School double

LOS BAÑOS, LAGUNA — University of Santo Tomas took care of business in both the Boys’ and Girls’ Divisions during the third day of the UAAP Season 82 Swimming Championships, Saturday at the Trace Aquatic Center.

UST stretched its lead and moved closer to dethroning defending champion De La Salle Zobel in both divisions. The Junior Tigersharks have 319.50 points against De La Salle Zobel’s 273.50 points in the Boys’ Division while having 312 points against University of the Philippines’ 243 points in the Girls’ Division.

Lord Mikhail Cruz, Nigel Romey, Merell Neri, and Jerico Salas capped the day with a record-breaking gold in the 200m Boys’ Freestyle Relay. They clocked in with a time of 1:41.38, taking down a two-year-old mark set by previous UST swimmers. Their girls’ team of Honey Escarez, Chloe Laurente, Julianne Javier, and Alexandra Bonite also took home the gold in 1:55.47, just a full second off the UAAP record pace.

UST’s Camille Buico bested fellow Most Valuable Player contender Zoe Hilario of UP to take the gold in the 200m Girls’ Freestyle at 2:13.58. The high school ace then added another mint in the 50m Girls’ Butterfly finishing in 29.39 seconds.

UAAP82-SWIMMING-12TH-PHOTO-100M-BACKSTROKE-GIRLS-UST-SHAYNE-LUGAY Junior Tigersharks shatter 200M relay record as UST on pace for High School double ADMU DLSU News Swimming UAAP UP UST  - philippine sports news

Shayne Lugay also added the 100m Girls Backstroke gold for UST, negotiating the distance in 1:09.00 to help the team take a huge leap in the penultimate day.

Hilario still managed to bring home gold after topping the 400m Girls’ Individual Medley in 5:24.02. The other gold for the day went to De La Salle’s Bela Magtibay in the 100m Breaststroke, who finished in 1:18.10.

#ReadMore  Eljah Yamson lifts DLSZ to UAAP Boys Table Tennis Finals showdown vs UST

In the Boys’ Division, CJ Arceo added the 100m Breaststroke gold to his collection with a 1:07.36 finish to lead the charge for UST. On the other hand, teammate John Niel Paderes took the 100m Backstroke gold with 1:01.26.

Meanwhile, Wacky Santos of Ateneo put himself in the cusp of another MVP plum after his record-smashing gold in the 400m Individual Medley. The previous year’s Athlete of the Year broke his old mark of 4:41.31 with a new UAAP record time of 4:40.45.

JP Elises of Zobel rounded up the day’s winners with a 2:02.36 finish in the 200m Freestyle.

De La Salle Zobel completed the Girls’ Division top three after the third day at 196 points. Santos and the rest of the Ateneo squad then rounded up the leaders for the Boys’ Division with 147 points.

Written By

You May Also Like


University of the Philippines kept up its onslaught of stellar performances during the final day of the UAAP Season 86 Women’s Swimming Championships on...


University of Santo Tomas’s boys’ and girls’ swimming teams, led by Renz Santos and Patricia Santor respectively, romped past the competition from all fronts, formalizing another...


Reigning Most Valuable Player Lora Amoguis of Ateneo de Manila University is tied at 69 points with University of Santo Tomas sophomore Patricia Santor...


Rian Tirol made a significant impact for Ateneo de Manila University on the second day of the UAAP Season 86 Men’s Swimming Championships on...


Unlike in previous seasons, record-breaking performances in individual events have become few and far between in the UAAP Season 86 High School Girls’ Swimming...


Ateneo de Manila University kicked off its drive for an ‘eight-peat’ in the UAAP Men’s Swimming Championships, taking home two golds, two silvers, and...


Picking up where it left off last year, back-to-back, double high school champion University of Santo Tomas finished the first day of activities in...


De La Salle University ended a 19-year drought or since taking back-to-back titles in seasons 66 and 65 — ending the UAAP Season 85...