Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
(C) Peter Baltazar/Tiebreaker Times


June Mar Fajardo clinches 7th PBA MVP Award, extends record

June Mar Fajardo further added to his legend after earning PBA Season 47 Most Valuable Player honors in the Leo Awards, Sunday at the SMART Araneta Coliseum.

The San Miguel star collected the league’s highest individual award for the seventh time, extending his record of most season MVP awards won.

His coronation marked one of the PBA’s most successful comebacks from a major injury. It could be recalled that Fajardo suffered a gruesome shin injury during practice back in 2020, and took him over a year to regain his old form.

Serving as an indication that he is indeed back was the 2022 Philippine Cup, which saw him earn Best Player of the Conference honors — his ninth.

He then helped the Beermen regain the Perpetual trophy by beating TNT in the best-of-seven Finals that went the full route, in the process winning his record-tying fourth Finals MVP plum with averages of 19.0 points and 16.57 rebounds.

A big part of SMB’s semifinal runs in the two conferences that followed, Fajardo finished the season leading the statistical points race with 40.2 SPs behind per-game norms of 17.7 points, 13.5 rebounds, 2.9 assists, and 1.3 blocks.

The Cebuano star bested Season 46 MVP Scottie Thompson, another Ginebra King in Christian Standhardinger, and fellow Beerman CJ Perez for the award.

All four are included in the Mythical First Team together with another Jamie Malonzo, who was a consistent figure in the BPC races of the previous season.

Fajardo and Standhardinger also lead the All-Defensive Team, which features the Meralco duo of Chris Newsome and Cliff Hodge plus Magnolia’s Jio Jalalon.

#ReadMore  GM Torre salvages bronze

Another Hotshots star Calvin Abueva is in the Mythical Second Team that also has TNT’s Mikey Williams and Calvin Oftana, and ex-NorthPort star Robert Bolick and now the Batang Pier’s main man Arvin Tolentino.

Former Converge lead guard and now Gin King Maverick Ahanmisi, meanwhile, won Most Improved Player honors for his All-Star level play last season.

Another FiberXer in Justin Arana went away with Rookie of the Year honors, beating Blackwater’s Ato Ular and Tyler Tio of Phoenix Super LPG.

Kevin Alas, ultimately, earned the Samboy Lim Sportmanship Award. The NLEX star is the first to win the award in back-to-back seasons after Gabe Norwood in 2017 and 2018.

Written By

Oftentimes on the sidelines. Forever a student of the game. Morayta-bred.

You May Also Like


Gilas Pilipinas Men ushered their new era on a strong note. In the first-ever FIBA game of the Philippines under Tim Cone, Gilas torched...


ANTA Philippines further strengthened its presence in the local hoops scene after partnering up with the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA). The brand is now...


The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) unveiled the schedule for the season-ending Philippine Cup, set to kick off on February 28 and conclude on May...


Mark Barroca and Japeth Aguilar will be headlining the 2024 PBA All-Star. The decorated veterans topped the fan voting and will therefore serve as...

3x3 Basketball

Meralco concluded its PBA 3×3 Third Conference campaign on a high note. The Bolts thwarted TNT Triple Giga’s back-to-back grand slam bid, securing a...


June Mar Fajardo is confident with the remaining bigs’ capabilities of manning the front for Gilas Pilipinas in the FIBA Asia Cup 2025 Qualifiers’...


June Mar Fajardo only had one thing in mind after San Miguel clinched the PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup title: fly back home to...


Chris Ross and other remnants of the famed ‘Death Five’ entered elite company following San Miguel’s conquest of the PBA Season 48 Commissioner’s Cup....