Connect with us


JM Bernardo stuns RP ace Lanz Zafra; Sarah Joy Barredo cruises to Women’s Finals



Tiebreaker Times JM Bernardo stuns RP ace Lanz Zafra; Sarah Joy Barredo cruises to Women's Finals Badminton News  Thea Pomar Solomon Padiz Sarah Barredo Sandy Barredo Samantha Ramos Ros Pedrosa Rabie Oba-ob Paul Pantig Nicole Albo Mike Minuluan Mikaela de Guzman Mia Manguilimotan Mariya Sevilla Lanz Zafra Kanna Baba Joper Escueta Jochelle Alvarez JM Bernardo Jerrickson Oba-ob Descka Calimlim Christian Bernardo Chanelle Lunod Ariel Magnaye Anton Cayanan Alyssa Leonardo Alvin Morada Alem Palmares 2018 SMART National Open Badminton Tournament

As expected, all the top-seeded shuttlers advanced to the final day of the 2018 SMART National Open Badminton Tournament.

Well, all but one.

Top-ranked male shuttler in the country today, Lanz Zafra, was eliminated in the quarterfinals round of the men’s singles division, Friday at the Powersmash Badminton Center in Makati City.

Zafra of Smash Pilipinas was eliminated by UP Fighting Maroon JM Bernardo, 14-21, 19-21, in a match that took 40 minutes. Bernardo takes on Rabie Oba-ob in the semis.

Over in the other bracket of the tournament, second-ranked Solomon Padiz takes on third-seed Ros Pedrosa.


In the women’s division, top-ranked Filipina Sarah Barredo cruised to the finals, dominating the first three rounds without dropping a set. The NU Lady Bulldog faces unranked player Mia Manguilimotan.

Second seed Nicole Albo was eliminated in just the second round by rising star Mikaela de Guzman, who will take on third-seed Jochelle Alvarez in the knockout semis.

In the men’s doubles division, all four duos of the national team made it. Ariel Magnaye and Alvin Morada will take on Mike Minuluan and Alem Palmares, while Christian Bernardo and Anton Cayanan will face Joper Escueta and Paul Pantig.

For the distaff’s side, top tandem Alyssa Leonardo and Thea Pomar will look to avert an upset as they face ex-UST Tigress Patricia Barredo and Descka Calimlim. The team of Kanna Baba and Mariya Sevilla and the pair of Mikaela de Guzman and Samantha Ramos figure in the other bracket.

In the mixed double’s tourney, Alvin Morada and Alyssa Leonardo will meet Jerickson Oba-ob and Mariya Sevilla, while Christian Bernardo and UAAP MVP Chanelle Lunod takes on Ariel Magnaye and Thea Pomar.

READ  Phil Younghusband's 50th international goal seal Azkals' maiden entry to Asian Cup

The tournament is backed by SMART Communications, MVP Sports Foundation, BaliPure, SMASH Pilipinas, Victor PCome Industrial Sales, J.Co Donuts, Prima Pasta, and Forthright Events & Sports Management Inc.,

The semifinals, finals, and awarding ceremony will be held on Saturday, November 17 at the Ayala Malls, South Park in Alabang.