Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


Jewel Albo, Anthea Gonzalez look to seal U17 MVP Juniors crowns

Over 576 of the top young badminton players in the country converged at the Powersmash Badminton Center in Makati City last November 10 for the 2018 MVP National Juniors Championships. And on the final day of competition on Wednesday, the top-seeded players look to secure the championship.

Headlining the cast for the grand finale of the annual youth tourney is top under-17 player Jewel Albo. Albo cruised through his first five matches, not dropping a single set to advance to the finale.

Standing in his way is Lyrden Laborte, an unranked player who is trying to close out his Cinderella run with gold.

Laborte’s run to the championship game was nothing short of spectacular. After dispatching Ericson Tabion in the opening round, Laborte scored a stunning upset of second-seeded Justine Valenzuela, 21-17, 21-14. He would then dominate his next two assignments to set up a showdown with Albo.

Albo will also partner up with Anthea Gonzalez in the mixed doubles finals, going up against second-ranked girls’ singles player Viana Antonio and Zed Monterubio. To close out the day, he and Guillian Rodriguez face Johnyl Mialda and Nestojan Tapales in the closer of the U17 boys’ doubles tourney.

As expected, Gonzalez, who is the top-seed in the girls’ division, breezed through the under-17 division en route to the final. She will face under-15 standout Karyll Rio, who will take on Patricia de Leon in the U15 finale, for the U17 championship.

Just like Albo, Gonzalez will be performing triple-duty in the event, as she will partner up with Dana Navarro in the girls’ double under-17 final, going up against Christine Dorega and Clara Ignacio.

#ReadMore  SEA Games-bound shuttlers kick off SMART National Open campaigns

Overall, a total of 20 champions will be crowned in this tournament backed by SMART Communications, MVP Sports Foundation, SMASH Pilipinas, Victor PCome Industrial Sales, Prima Pasta, Bali Pure, and Forthright Events & Sports Management Inc.

Written By

You May Also Like

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

Team Philippines’ 2022 SMART Badminton Asia Championships campaign begins on Tuesday, April 26 at the Muntinlupa Sports Complex. Starting at 9:00AM, the qualifying rounds...

2022 Badminton Asia Championships

For the first time, the Philippines will be hosting a BWF World Tour Super 1000 tournament with the 2022 SMART Badminton Asia Championships set...

2021 SEA Games

SMASH Pilipinas head coach Rosman Razak finally had a chance to see the badminton players of our country during the MVP Second Badminton Cup...


National team stalwart Ros Pedrosa took down upstart Jewel Angelo Albo in three sets, 10-21, 21-18, 21-12, to sweep Group B and book his...


Sarah Barredo swept all of her assignments to pace the winners on the opening day of the MVP Second Badminton Cup, Wednesday at the...

2021 SEA Games

The country’s top badminton players will figure in their first tournament in two years as the Manny V. Pangilinan (MVP) Second Badminton Cup will...


The Southeast Games-bound pair of Ariel Magnaye and Alvin Morada continued their impressive run, reaching the quarterfinals of the 2019 SMART National Badminton Open...


National Team stalwart and 2019 Southeast Asian Games campaigner Sarah Joy Barredo dominated her opponent to move into the quarterfinals of the 2019 SMART...