Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times
(C) Cambodia 2023


Hans Michael Weiss returns to Azkals seat

In a case of déjà vu, a familiar face has been appointed to lead the Philippine Azkals after almost 10 years since his first stint.

The Philippine Football Federation announced on Tuesday that German football manager Hans Michael Weiß had been reappointed as the head coach of the Azkals, succeeding Barae Jrondi after the Moroccan’s two-match stint.

“We are delighted to welcome coach Weiss back to the PHI MNT,” said PFF president Mariano “Nonong” Araneta. “He has kept the Philippines close to his heart and continues to be a well-respected figure by players and staff.”

Weiß first took charge of the Azkals from 2011 to 2014. Under his watch, the Philippines went as high as 127 in the FIFA World Rankings. He led the country to a third-placed finish in the 2012 AFC Challenge Cup and a semifinal appearance in the 2012 AFF Suzuki Cup.

Following his stint with the Philippines, the 58-year-old mentor took charge of Mongolia and Laos. He led the Mongolians to five wins, three draws, and 11 defeats from 2017 to 2020. During the Dannenfels native’s time with Laos, he took over the country’s youth teams aside from the senior team.

He is the 16th appointment to take charge of the team since the fabled Miracle of Hanoi during the 2010 AFF Suzuki Cup. There is no word as to how long his contract will be for his second stint with the Azkals.

“He has also gained valuable experience over the past decade that will help him in his return to the Philippines. We are hopeful that his second opportunity to the team will be more successful than the first,” said Araneta.

#ReadMore  Santillan's career-game helps La Salle survive physical game against Adamson

There will be a mix of old and new faces for Weiß’ side that will take on Nepal and Chinese Taipei on June 15 and June 19 respectively at Rizal Memorial.

Neil Etheridge, Patrick Deyto, and Julian Schwarzer will compete to start in goal. The likes of Amani Aguinaldo, Martin Steuble, Jesper Nyholm, Santiago Rublico, Marco Casambre, Carli De Murga, and Daisuke Sato will target a place in the backline.

When it comes to the midfield, Dylan De Bruycker, Manny Ott, Jesse Curran, Jared Pena, Mike Ott, Sandro Reyes, Gio Pabualan, Oskari Kekkonen, Kevin Ingreso, and Hikaru Minegishi will look to stamp their spot in the middle of the park.

Lastly, Jarvey Gayoso, Patrick Reichelt, OJ Porteria, Kenshiro Daniels, Bienvenido Maranon, and Andres Aldeguer will look to score the goals upfront.

Written By

Lorenzo's a frustrated author who knows a thing or two about Football and Basketball. Went all green from Ortigas to Taft. Supports Liverpool FC, FC Bayern Munich and the Alaska Aces

You May Also Like


Philippine men’s national team striker Jarvey Gayoso has finally earned his move abroad. Cambodian powerhouse Phnom Penh Crown FC revealed that it has signed...


Philippine Azkals captain Neil Etheridge has made the long-awaited move to Thai League 1 side Buriram United. The 34-year-old goalkeeper will now represent the...


Pham Tuan Ha’s late winner ended the Philippine Men’s National Football Team’s 2026 FIFA World Cup dreams as Tom Saintfiet’s men folded 3-2 to...


Donning a blue kit at the Rizal Memorial Stadium while playing in the final third of the pitch may have been familiar for Jarvey...


The Philippine Men’s National Football Team saw its winless run in the second round of the FIFA World Cup 2026 and 2027 AFC Asian...


As the Philippine Men’s National Football Team resumes its campaign to qualify for the 2026 FIFA World Cup on Friday, there is an acceptance...


Change is coming for the Philippine Azkals. Long-time team manager Dan Palami announced on Tuesday that he is stepping down from his role in...


The best teams always find a way through. Justin Baas scored the winning penalty as Kaya-Iloilo won the 2023 Copa Paulino Alcantara by outlasting...