Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Tiebreaker Times


FEU-Diliman completes golden double in UAAP chess

Far Eastern University – Diliman completed a dominant display in the UAAP Chess Championship after sweeping the high school titles on Sunday at the FEU Tech Gym in Manila.

The FEU-D Girls’ Team secured the title as early as the penultimate round while the Boys’ Team had to take over during the title showdown with University of Santo Tomas in the final round to finally complete another double championship in the high school divisions for the second straight season.

FEU-D Head coach Jayson Gonzales had a sigh of relief after a close campaign this season compared to the previous one where his team was the runaway champion.

“Talagang down the wire, until the last moment anything can happen. This is the only year, I would say, na talagang yung training mas extensive kaysa last year. We also have this line up na maganda rin,” he said.

“Kung natalo tong last round sa Boys, talo talaga. Sila (UST) ang champion at kami ang second place. Ganun din ang girls yesterday kung natalo kami ng National University sa Girls. Di kagaya nung last time na talagang malayo.

National Master Franklin Andes won the Season 86 MVP citation and the Board 1 gold medal thanks to an undefeated streak of six wins and a draw this season.

“Masaya po ako hindi lang dahil sa individual award kundi dahil champion din yung team. Binigay ko lang talaga yung best ko. Tapos sa training din po, binigay ko lahat,” he said.

Outside of Andes, all other FEU-D players won a medal with National Master Jerish John Velarde, National Master Oscar Cantela, Lemuel Adena, and Arena FIDE Master Ritchie Abeleda all winning golds on Board 2, 3, 4, and 5, respectively, while Zeus Paglinawan settled for a silver on Board 6.

#ReadMore  6-8 Fil-Am Sean Alter commits to UP

UST and Adamson University completed the Boys’ podium after finishing second and third, respectively.

UST’s National Master Al-Basher Buto won the Rookie of the Year plum as he won a silver in Board 3 with five others also bagging a medal each.

National Master Karlycris Clarito Jr. bagged the bronze on Board 1, National Master Oshrie Reyes nabbed the silver on Board 2, Sumer Oncita with silver on Board 4, Jian Rivera with silver on Board 5, and Ronald Dableo II with gold on Board 6.

Meanwhile, Adamson’s campaign was led by Joshua Roque who took the Board 2 bronze medal, Jacob De Jesus (Board 3 bronze medal), Dustin Herrero (Board 4 bronze medal), Karl Ballobar (Board 5 bronze medal), and Robert Palisoc (Board 6 bronze medal).

The only other medalist from outside the podium finishers was National Master Tyrhone Tabernilla who finished with the silver medal on Board 1.

UAAP-86-CHESS-AWARDING-CEREMONY-Far-Eastern-University-Diliman-08261 FEU-Diliman completes golden double in UAAP chess ADMU AdU Chess DLSU FEU News NU UAAP UST  - philippine sports news

In the Girls’ Division, FEU-D’s Woman National Master Ruelle Canino, who won all but one match this season, brought home the gold medal on Board 1 along with the MVP award.

“Malaki po expectation ko sa team kasi po nagchampion na rin kami last year. Everyday training din po kasi yung ginagawa namin. So yung mga ginagawa namin dapat may bunga kaya ayun nagawa namin yung champion at nag-MVP po ako,” Canino said on their championship run and her MVP award.

FEU-D once again dominated the medal tally as all six players clinched one each with Woman National Master Samantha Umayan (Board 2 gold medal), Woman National Master April Joy Claros (Board 3 bronze medal), Woman National Master Bonjoure Suyamin (Board 4 silver medal), Kate Orzido (Board 5 gold medal), and Arleah Sapuan (Board 6 gold medal).

#ReadMore  Nico Salva looks to rebuild Ateneo's 3x3 program from scratch

National University Nazareth School went home with the runner-up trophy while UST settled for a third-place finish.

NUNS’ Sara Dalagan won the Rookie of the Year award after winning the silver medal on Board 2.

Joining Dalagan on the medal tally for NUNS were Woman National Master Lexie Hernandez (Board 1 silver medal), Heart Padilla (Board 4 gold medal), Yana De Vera (Board 5 silver medal), Joella Conjurado (Board 6 bronze medal).

Third place UST also took home five medals with Precious Yecla (Board 1), Marjerin Janapi (Board 2), and Christine Tabungar (Board 5) all winning bronze medals as Nathalize Liscano took the gold on Board 3 while Fritzine Baybayan nabbed the silver on Board 6.

God Grace Morales won a bronze medal on Board 4 for Adamson.

Written By

You May Also Like


The friendship between Bella Belen and Detdet Pepito, despite their schools’ rivalry from high school extending into college, is one to admire. Belen is...


Nico Almendras will leave National University the way he started – as a champion. The decision to stay for one more year was all...


May 15, 2024, will forever be a special date for National University. Not only did the school win both the UAAP Men’s and Women’s...


University of the Philippines secured a storybook ending to its UAAP Season 86 Men’s Football Tournament campaign by defeating Far Eastern University 1-0 in...


Back on April 22, 2018, Jaja Santiago left the SM Mall of Asia Arena in heartbreak. Santiago, then just 22 years old, ended her...


Xyza Gula stepped up for University of Sto. Tomas in an attempt to save the Golden Tigresses’ championship bid in Game 2 of the...


Martini Rey could only dwell on regret after the final match of his collegiate career ended in heartbreak. The sports science student and the...

2024 AVC Challenge Cup for Women

National University rookie Arah Panique has been chosen to replace Casiey Dongallo in the Alas Pilipinas pool for the 2024 AVC Challenge Cup for...